To register for an Internet.com membership to receive newsletters and white papers, use the Register button ABOVE.
To participate in the message forums BELOW, click here


EIT Planet's Security News
 Symantec Warns of New Security Breach
 Security Vulnerabilities Prove Increasingly Costly
 IPS Market Approaches $1 Billion

Security Products
 BugBopper (BugBopper)
 VBA Password Remover Tool (VBA Password Remover)
 VBA Password Remover Software (VBA Password Remover Software)
 Free keylogger download (Free keylogger download)
 Monitoring Software (Monitoring software)
 Retrieve Outlook 2007 Password (Retrieve PST Password)


Go Back   Antionline Forums - Maximum Security for a Connected World > Security Discussions > Spyware / Adware

Spyware / Adware Discuss spyware, adware and other intrusive applications.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 7th, 2004, 07:03 AM   #1
Soda_Popinsky
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,441
Soda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond repute
Corporate owned worm?

I was investigating an AIM worm today, that linked back to:

http://www.funbuddyicons.com
http://www.funwebproducts.com
http://bar.mywebsearch.com

to install various toolbars. I am not done reviewing it, but supposedly it also injects ads into sent instant messages. I don't have a default installation to work on now, but I will soon to get the specifics.

Some interesting things though...
whois:funwebproducts.com
Quote:
Administrative, Technical Contact:
Focus Interactive, Inc. (7K8J76EVN)
One Bridge Street Suite 42
Irvington, NY 10533

United States
Phone: 914-591-2000 Fax: 914-591-2000
whois:askjeeves.com
Quote:
Ask Jeeves, Inc.
DNS Administrator
5858 Horton Street, Suite 350
Emeryville, CA 94608

US
both are addresses listed here:
http://sp.ask.com/docs/jeevesinc/a5.html

I found that connection, so I looked for anything public and found this:
http://www.infoworld.com/article/04/...20APPLICATIONS
Quote:
Ask Jeeves Inc. will buy the privately owned Interactive Search Holdings Inc. (ISH) for about $343 million in a move that the Emeryville, California, company expects will double its search market share, it announced Thursday.

ISH properties and brands include My Way, My Search, My Web Search, Excite, iWon, the advertising network ********* and Focus Interactive. Berkowitz said that ISH currently employes about 200 people, and that while it has international visitors, it has no international presence. In December, ISH's Web properties reached 17 percent of U.S. Internet users, Berkowitz said.
Now I am not 100% positive on the AIM worm going around now, but so far it looks like it gets installed in the javascript runaround on the domains listed above and is installed w/o permission. Which is illegal, but I am not positive that is how it is done yet.

What I am very interested in, is if anyone here has any proof that one of the products listed above were installed on a box through illegal means, (exploit or whatever) at all in the past.

It is just suprising to me that the crap I have been removing the past 2 years has been linked to a familiar name like askjeeves.com. They could get nailed, class action style. It's not some shady basment run industry, it might be askjeeves?
__________________
Soda_Popinsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2004, 02:29 PM   #2
whatthe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 510
whatthe has a reputation beyond reputewhatthe has a reputation beyond reputewhatthe has a reputation beyond reputewhatthe has a reputation beyond reputewhatthe has a reputation beyond reputewhatthe has a reputation beyond reputewhatthe has a reputation beyond reputewhatthe has a reputation beyond repute
Interesting conclusion. I know a lot of our users use AskJeeves and a lot have My Search crap on them. Hmmmm.
__________________
\"You got a mouth like an outboard motor..all the time putt putt putt\" - Foghorn Leghorn
whatthe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2004, 09:54 PM   #3
Soda_Popinsky
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,441
Soda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond repute
Update:

If you receive buddies.funbuddyicons.com in an instant message and click on it, you will be directed to a site that will ask to install a buddy icon software. If you agree, your homepage is changed, (not hijacked forever, idk yet) and more importantly, there are new tools installed in your instant messanger. When you send messages, an advertisement for buddies.funbuddyicons.com is appended and the sender cannot see it being appended. If it exploited the user this would be a corporate worm, but it doesn't exploit anything.

However, in the EULA:
http://www.funwebproducts.com/eula_1104/

It mentions nothing of this way of advertising through AIM message injections. So in a sense, is there a form of exploitation going on? I'm no lawyer, but could someone look over that with me and see where it gives the software permission to alter your outgoing messages?

Although someone agrees to the installation, this part of the software is not outlined in the EULA.

I ran all this on a virtual install of a default installation of windows. There was a uninstall listing in add/remove programs, but when I did it, it broke my internet connection on the next reboot. I used this tool:
http://www.spychecker.com/program/winsockxpfix.html

, removed a .cab in HJT, and a reboot fixed it. I don't know for sure yet if a second reboot fixed it, the .cab, or the winsock tool fixed it. I will be messing around more to see.

As for now, I think Focus Interactive broke their license agreement. Could others please have a look at it with me? It's a pretty intimidating document...

Thanks!
__________________
Soda_Popinsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2004, 03:03 AM   #4
Soda_Popinsky
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,441
Soda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond reputeSoda_Popinsky has a reputation beyond repute
Well it seems they have changed the URL that infects the clicker... Now it sends them through a description of what they are downloading...

I still don't like knowing that the software is still out there... being advertised through invisible IM's.

Wheres a ghost smiley when you need one.
__________________
Soda_Popinsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:47 PM.












Acceptable Use Policy

Internet.com
The Network for Technology Professionals

Search:

About Internet.com

Legal Notices, Licensing, Permissions, Privacy Policy.
Advertise | Newsletters | E-mail Offers

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.