Does anyone know if this is real or not? I have a link from the microsoft page, check below.
http://www.microsoft.com&item%3Dq209...8825GHU_98.asp
Printable View
Does anyone know if this is real or not? I have a link from the microsoft page, check below.
http://www.microsoft.com&item%3Dq209...8825GHU_98.asp
pls tell me it's a joke. gaah. <rushing to toilet to lose entire lunch> it can't be.
Here's the FAKE article from the link:
After months of secret negotiations, Microsoft finally acquired Redhat. In the coming months, Microsoft will be integrating the RedHat Linux distribution in its .NET environment. Core subsystems of Windows XP will be integrated in the new Linux.NET distribution. XFree will probably disappear as well, Microsoft has been secretly porting its own desktop environment to fit the upcoming Linux.NET. Sales will start in mid March. Current owners of RedHat Linux 7.2 and RedHat Linux Professional will receive a discount when upgrading.
Remote_Access_
Nope, I don't think this is real. First, when I went to click on the link, I got a warning about how this webpage may be faked. Secondly, why would Microsoft want to integrate RedHat into anything? For that matter, why would they want to integrate Windows XP into anything Linux? They think of Linux as a serious threat to their monopoly, and simply wish to crush it as quickly as possible. Also, there are English errors in the text.
<grasping Suse and Slack distros> If this is true, this could start a "holy" war amongst the OS's. I'm just curious as to how M$ finagled RH from IBM......... Well, my day WAS going pretty good...........
Just found out it is indeed a hoax. Looks like a hack job. If you click the link you'll notice an ip redirector. 212.254.206.213
Which turns out to be across th pond some where..
Put in IP at this site, to find who owns it...
http://www.ripe.net/perl/whois/
Uhh guys, the site's obviously faked, look at the address again:
http://www.microsoft.com&item%3Dq209...8825GHU_98.asp
See the "@" symbol there? All you do is connect to 212.254.206.213 and view that webpage with www.microsoft.com&item%3Dq209354 as your username.
Funny, but not true at all.
You guys will fall for anything. Dont believe it till you see it.
Take a look at the redirect in the URL. It goes to: 212.254.206.213
This is owned by datacom.ch.
Very simple:
Trying to resolve 212.254.206.213 - done!
-------------------------
IP Address: 212.254.206.213
Host Name: secure.socket.ch
As well look at the web page. It has links that work but directly. When I view the MS site via IE 6.0 it has mouse overs, this page does not..........
Clever but no bannana!
:killcompu
I can't believe I didn't think to check the link......DOH!!! Okay, they got me on that one. <feeling stupid> I'm going back to my cubicle now and shut up.