-
Spyware in Kazaa
Check out this article from ZDNet.
By installing Kazaa you agree to this: "You hereby grant (Brilliant) the right to access and use the unused computing power and storage space on your computer/s and/or Internet access or bandwidth for the aggregation of content and use in distributed computing".
There is software installed in Kazaa that makes it possible to use you both your CPU and your storage space. Probably it's not gonna harm you, but if you don't like it, install Kazaalite at http://www.kazaalite.tk I haven't tried it, but it's supposed to be a stripped down version without the spyware and shyte.
-
Yeh, I've tried it and it's good. Also, you might wanna try some of the open source versions of these p2p software things...they hardly ever have spyware, and if they do, since it's open source you can take it out and recompile. :-/
-
How about the open p2p protocol, something liken openft (for fast track)...
It is the open source version of KAZAA's p2p protocol...
Since it is opensource, no spyware is to be found in there...
And ofcourse KAZAA uses ur processor/HD/Bandwith, As long as you don't un [X] check the checkbox [ ] function as supernode ! !
-
As for the spyware, this is nothing new. Kazaa's had spyware for a few releases now and I got rid of it the minute Ad-Aware found it. Audiogalaxy for mp3s gold is what I use (I pay the monthly fee) and I've never had a problem. Anything that has spyware is a fat-ass no as far as I'm concerned and will never stay on my machine. I've even made use of Norton's Registry Tracker upon installation to make sure I get everything.
As for open source, welcome to the world of doing what you want, when you want, how you want, for whatever reason you want.
By the way, Unisys and Microsoft are putting together a campaign (25 million bucks or so) for a yearly Let's-Discredit-Unix website to educate people or whatnot. What's wrong with this picture? Their website is run on FreeBSD.
-
[proactive@localhost proactive]$ telnet www.wehavethewayout.com 80
Trying 130.94.214.143...
Connected to www.wehavethewayout.com (130.94.214.143).
Escape character is '^]'.
HTTP/1.1 400 Bad Request
Server: Microsoft-IIS/5.0
Date: Tue, 02 Apr 2002 16:10:42 GMT
Content-Type: text/html
Content-Length: 87
???
Vorlin, perhaps they are covering their tracks?
-
I looked that up and here's what I found:
http://slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=0...34&mode=thread
Interesting.
-
We've talked about KaZaA's spyware a million times before - look through old threads before re-posting the same old stuff.
SSJVegeta-Sei
-
It isn't exactly just spy-ware that proactive is tell you about....
It is a "piggy-back" distributed program, which will use your CPU processing power, and bandwidth to send advertisements and other such. Not just to you, but to whoever they target.
in short: you will be helping the hated marketers and ad agencies.