Cant get rid of Spyware (Akamai Tech)
Hi Ao'ers,
Ok im really angry. Cant figure this out.
Ive run Ad-Aware and Spy-Bot and Trend Micro OfficeScan, manually looked through the registry (although im not 100% on what im looking for), and am at a total loss.
My Win2000 workstation keeps listening / opening a connection to these addresses:
a194-176-73-151.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com
213-161-66-139.akamai.com
213-161-66-160.akamai.com the port numbers all appear to be in the 112x's
The IP addresses seem to be randomized but all from 'Akamai Technologies' what or whoever they are.. The ports being used have so far been random but ranged from 1126 upto 1168
Im pretty sure it isnt a Trojan, Infact Im almost positive that its some sort of Spyware / Adware thing which probably is of low threat to me.
BUT as i'm sure you'll all understand.... I didnt put there. And I want the damn thing gone.
Did some Googling on Akami Technologies: (with and without a space between)
Main website http://www.akamai.com/
Akamai provides what is commonly known as content peering, the task of optimizing large and complex networks and keeping large sites up and serving content, applications and streaming media at usable rates. Akamai's FreeFlow service delivers content via its global network utilizing sophisticated algorithms developed by M.I.T. researchers. The service continuously monitors Internet conditions to discover the optimal "edge server" and delivery route for each request. Akamai's Digital Parcel Service (DPS) combines enhanced content delivery with digital rights management capabilities to form a licensed digital media content distribution system.
Ok so great we've now discovered that they do Controlled Content Delivery (which im pretty sure could be con-strewed as Cookie makers)
Interestingly im not the only one out there with this problem:
<URL>http://www.derkeiler.com/Newsgroups/...2-12/0319.html</URL>
<URL>http://www.incidents.org/archives/in.../msg01369.html</URL>
<URL>http://www.hardcoreware.net/forum/pr...ead.php?t=8800</URL>
<URL>http://www.infosecwriters.com/projec...gs/11_6_02.htm</URL>
Here are some links dating from 2001 to 2003.
They're all having the same problem as me but no one seems to have solved it.
Im beginning to think that Akamai Technologies are either being spoofed / have some dodgy clients or are a very very shady outfit.
Its all a bit weird... This Spywre hasn’t given me any popups or anything.
In only know about it because I ran Netstat to check something.
1) How do I get them off my poor Win2000 machine??
2) Anyone got similar stories?
Theres cookies (the chocolate kind) for anyone that can solve this.
Cheers
V$D$
(Attached is the Netstat log)