-
Word of Mouth.Com
Word of Mouth recently sent me an email. "Someone is checking up on you." They supplied a link to information about email and a few other things.
By visting the site I can that I must be a member to contact this individual whom is searching on my email. If infact s/he does even exist. Now the part about why I posted today.
First has anybody used, seen, or even heard of this service?
Secondly, isn't it possbile that this company harvest my email from somewhere. Did a search themselves and then told me about it in attempt to draw me into a registration with them? If you knew my email was [email protected] it narrows down my isp a bit doesn't it?
Here is the link they sent me via email.
Kinda fishy isn't it?
/edit f1xed typoz
-
I've gotten those emails before, a few from word of mouth, and some from sites like them. I just leave them alone, ones i've gotten in the past are annoying:
for each email you provide you get clues to the person who provided ur email!
-
Its a scam , i have seen it before. Google will find info about it
-
Your not the first person to ask about this bud. From the digging i did ( and it was a while ago) if yiou get far enough into the registration process it attempts to force a D/L for some spyware crap. I could be thinking of a diferent site but something tells me thats the right one. I will do some more digging when i have the time this weekend
-
Quote:
Originally posted here by ZomBieMann77
Your not the first person to ask about this bud. From the digging i did ( and it was a while ago) if yiou get far enough into the registration process it attempts to force a D/L for some spyware crap. I could be thinking of a diferent site but something tells me thats the right one. I will do some more digging when i have the time this weekend
Anymore what doesn't install spyware. I didn't try and register with them, so I am not sure if it comes with spyware or not.
lumpyporridge.......I had kind of figured it was a scam. What can't google find nowadays?
Thank you all for your info and opinions.
-
I used to get those emails regularly - I tried to contact the admin address in case it was a genuine site and they had made a mistake but I just got an automated response. In the end I just banned all email from @word-of-mouth.org/.com and some attglobal.net address they used as well.
-