hmm still no proof but indeed someone already changed the html... and I saw some guests around...
Printable View
hmm still no proof but indeed someone already changed the html... and I saw some guests around...
Hmmm! I noticed that as well. Just a little bit to easy I would think. Something is funny with this one. I hope he does'nt mind me sending an email and making a call to AOL to verify this. As far as Ravage382, this may be you. It still tells us nothing. This nick is a new account here too. Nothing has been posted by Ravage382 about your server. If this is an attempt at some social engineering. It's not working to well.Quote:
Originally posted here by VictorKaum
hmm still no proof but indeed someone already changed the html... and I saw some guests around...
Ravage382
http://www.antionline.com/member.php...o&userid=93117
chris_james
http://www.antionline.com/member.php...o&userid=86411
Not much info to go on.
I'm curious as to why chris_james's profile says he's in the UK, the Visual Traceroute VisualRoute puts the IP addy as AOL in Reston, VA and the domain ".nu" is listed for a country called Niue, which is an island in Polynesia Niue ?
If chris_james could explain some this, perhaps?
im guesing if he is running a server that resolves as aol he proly has a cable modem thru them, he is definatly in the US and hes almost definatly breaking the aol TOS
The DNS is provided by DYDNS, and it is not even on the server. I found this out by changing the url to Mine.Nu. I am no expert, but would one need a remotely hosted DNS when *NIX runs DNS just fine on it's own?
I am VERY suspicious. I am gonna do more investigation... {P2P}, you are right, somebody needs to contact AOL. The only thing I can think of that MIGHT make this legit is AOL has a broadband service and this guy is running servers fom that, and is using this DNS service for others to resolve the IP or complex host name easier. However, I do not know if AOL allows servers to be run. It's got my attention.
I am in the UK
I have set up a bridge IP to Aol which allows me to connect linux to internet by way of AOL. This works by reverse engineering and analyzing bytes sent to the modem and finally using VPN to connect all my boxes.
My Dns is from www.dyndns.org
Well, if we someone her does get in trouble for breaking into the server because you said it is yours. You are in some serious trouble with us, and the law. I don't buy this. If someone here does break into it, and he ask you for the password to make sure, DO NOT give it to him. I want some hard proof, and so far, dosen't look so good.
Here is my scan from NeoTrace Pro:
NeoTrace Trace Version 3.25 Results
Target: 172.134.106.223
Date: 6/14/2002 (Friday), 2:21:46 AM
Nodes: 18
Node Data
Node Net Reg IP Address Location Node Name
1 - - 24.158.218.122 Dayton ???
2 1 - 10.99.0.1 Unknown
3 2 1 24.158.223.1 Unknown gw_slidell.charter-ala.com
4 3 - 67.98.34.117 Unknown
5 - - 216.140.12.33 Unknown
6 - 2 216.140.12.9 Unknown p3-1.c0.atln.broadwing.net
7 - 2 216.140.16.6 Unknown p5-0.c0.wash.broadwing.net
8 - 2 216.140.16.14 Unknown p2-0.c0.nwyk.broadwing.net
9 - 2 216.140.17.33 Unknown p3-1.c0.nwyk.broadwing.net
10 - 2 216.140.10.2 Unknown p2-1.a0.nwyk.broadwing.net
11 - 3 66.185.137.197 Unknown pop1-nye-p1-0.atdn.net
12 - 3 66.185.141.18 Unknown bb2-nye-p5-0.atdn.net
13 - 3 66.185.153.118 Unknown bb2-vie-p8-0.atdn.net
14 - 3 66.185.152.229 Unknown bb2-dtc-p1-3.atdn.net
15 - 3 66.185.140.10 Unknown pop1-dtc-p15-0.atdn.net
16 - 3 66.185.140.2 Unknown wc3-dtc-s0-0-0.atdn.net
17 - 4 205.188.197.87 Arlington ipt-fs10.proxy.aol.com
18 4 4 172.134.106.223 39.017N, 77.417W ac866adf.ipt.aol.com
Packet Data
Node High Low Avg Tot Lost
1 0 0 0 1 0
2 23 23 23 1 0
3 27 27 27 1 0
4 29 29 29 1 0
5 47 47 47 1 0
6 48 48 48 1 0
7 65 65 65 1 0
8 67 67 67 1 0
9 96 96 96 1 0
10 66 66 66 1 0
11 66 66 66 1 0
12 72 72 72 1 0
13 82 82 82 1 0
14 92 92 92 1 0
15 89 89 89 1 0
16 87 87 87 1 0
17 77 77 77 1 0
18 499 499 499 1 0
Network Data
Network id#: 1
IANA (RESERVED-6)
Internet Assigned Numbers Authority
4676 Admiralty Way, Suite 330
Marina del Rey, CA 90292-6695
US
Network id#: 2
Charter Communications (NETBLK-24-158-CHARTER-LA)
12444 Powerscourt Dr.
St. Louis, MO 63131
US
Network id#: 3
Broadwing_Communications_Internal_Houston (NETBLK-BRW-GLUEHSTN-BLK6798)
1122 Capital of Texas Hwy S
Austin, TX 78746
US
Network id#: 4
America Online, Inc. (NETBLK-AOL-172BLK)
12100 Sunrise Valley Drive
Reston, VA 20191
US
Registrant Data
Registrant id#: 1
See Registrant Pane for registrant contact information.
Registrant id#: 2
Registrant:
BROADWING COMMUNICATIONS (WJLXZLRUPD)
1122 Capital of Texas Highway South
Austin, TX 78746
US
Registrant id#: 3
Registrant:
America Online, Inc
22000 AOL Way
Dulles, VA 20166
US
Registrant id#: 4
Registrant:
America Online, Inc
22000 AOL Way
Dulles, VA 20166
US
_____
NeoTrace Copyright ©1997-2001 NeoWorx Inc
I contacted AOL, and they were of no help at all. However, I did get some info from them, and they do have cable and DSL. I am trying to find a terms of service.
Update: I e-mailed AOL with the results of the NMAP, the URL pointing to the server, the DNS provider, and the whois info from {P2P}. I do not know if AOL is going to do anything about it, but I am sure if it's serious enough, they will. I could not find a TOS anywhere, but I can almost guarantee AOL does not allow servers... especially "reversed engineered"...
If I get any response from them, I will let you guys know.
Well. I think he has given up. I can't get him to respond to me. Someone must have showed him his security sucked or he was up to something and got scared because he was reported. Anyway. I did send an email to AOL asking about the validity of what he was doing and to verify that he could do this. As soon as I hear something I'll let you know.
There is power in numbers, indeed.