Wierd
User just came to me about an email she received ....sent by her (supposedly) at 4:13 am...
Subject: 586876
Body: 969
Looks like the subject is random Maverick811...............
MLF
Printable View
Wierd
User just came to me about an email she received ....sent by her (supposedly) at 4:13 am...
Subject: 586876
Body: 969
Looks like the subject is random Maverick811...............
MLF
Quote:
Originally posted here by morganlefay
Wierd
User just came to me about an email she received ....sent by her (supposedly) at 4:13 am...
Subject: 586876
Body: 969
Looks like the subject is random Maverick811...............
MLF
Hmmm, apparently not that random, one of the rouge emails that I found had the exact same Subject - maybe the subject is random only within the confines of a defined list?
Well a quick email to the domain users has turned up
2 different message bodies
969
5556
some have been caught by the spam filter...although not everyones filter is set the same...it is a personal choice....I checked my account and what was filtered....nada
MLF
Received one of those as well ... 5556 in the body ... Mine originated from the site linda.net ...which, if you enter it in your browser goes to this weird site .
Whois info of that site:
On this site there's no active smtp or pop3 ports ...Code:OrgName: Go Daddy Software, Inc.
OrgID: GDS-31
Address: 14455 N Hayden Road
Address: Suite 226
City: Scottsdale
StateProv: AZ
PostalCode: 85260
Country: US
NetRange: 68.178.128.0 - 68.178.255.255
CIDR: 68.178.128.0/17
NetName: GO-DADDY-SOFTWARE-INC
NetHandle: NET-68-178-128-0-1
Parent: NET-68-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: CNS1.SECURESERVER.NET
NameServer: CNS2.SECURESERVER.NET
Comment:
RegDate: 2005-04-12
Updated: 2005-11-11
RAbuseHandle: ABUSE51-ARIN
RAbuseName: Abuse Department
RAbusePhone: +1-480-624-2505
RAbuseEmail: [email protected]
RNOCHandle: NOC124-ARIN
RNOCName: Network Operations Center
RNOCPhone: +1-480-505-8809
RNOCEmail: [email protected]
OrgAbuseHandle: ABUSE51-ARIN
OrgAbuseName: Abuse Department
OrgAbusePhone: +1-480-624-2505
OrgAbuseEmail: [email protected]
OrgNOCHandle: NOC124-ARIN
OrgNOCName: Network Operations Center
OrgNOCPhone: +1-480-505-8809
OrgNOCEmail: [email protected]
OrgTechHandle: NOC124-ARIN
OrgTechName: Network Operations Center
OrgTechPhone: +1-480-505-8809
OrgTechEmail: [email protected]
# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2006-06-05 19:10
# Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.
Anyway .. might be interesting to some people
.C.
hey
I got just the same (same numbers, random subject, 969 body) delivered to my btinternet.com email address (it uses yahoo's mailsystem) on Monday.
I flagged it as spam in webmail, and another one went straight to Bulk Mail this morning.
Sean
Just posted on the Internet Storm Center:
Cheers:Quote:
Published: 2006-06-09,
Last Updated: 2006-06-09 13:56:40 UTC by Erik Fichtner (Version: 1)
The source of the 'Numbers Spam' has been publically revealed. It's a variant of the Bagel/Beagle/Toosoo/... virus. Symantec is calling it "Beagle.FC". Many thanks to everyone who sent in their thoughts about this one.