-
Spywareinfo.com is back up & faster than ever! :D
Flush your DNS (run ->cmd -> enter in 'ipconifg /flushdns' minus the 's and with the space) if you are having problems viewing the site.
EDIT: To reach merjin.org enter the folowing into your hosts file :D
216.40.225.12 merijn.org
216.40.225.12 www.merijn.org
-
constantly removing their scumware is not an acceptable alternative as far as im concerned. i dont think the government agencys can do anything about them. hell does anyone even know who they really are to do something about them?
why dont we make this thread a repository for information we can gather about this curse and formulate a plan.
ping coolwebsearch.com ->66.250.74.150
from tracert:
16 190 ms 201 ms 200 ms HyperSpace_Communications.demarc.cogentco.com [66.250.5.30]
17 191 ms 200 ms 180 ms 66.250.74.150
the ip block is owned by:
Trying 66.250.74 at ARIN
OrgName: Cogent Communications
OrgID: COGC
Address: 1015 31st Street, NW
City: Washington
StateProv: DC
PostalCode: 20007
Country: US
Registrant:
Cogent Communications (COGENTCO-DOM)
1015 31st St. NW
Attention Legal
Washington, DC 20007
US
66.250.0.0 - 66.250.255.255
domain name is registered to Inter Web Solutions Inc. at PO Box 326, Tortola, IO, 65113
the country code "IO" is British Indian Ocean Territory but Tortola is an Island in the British Virgin Islans can anyone shed some insight on this? is there a british indian ocean territorry named tortola?
-
Hi Tedob1,
British Indian Ocean Territory
http://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/...k/geos/io.html
Courtesy of "the good ol boys at Langley" :cool:
I am guessing that the scum have registered the IP in BIOT but are operating out of the Virgin Islands.
We have a "joint facility" at Diego Garcia?............................................
My local Member of Parliament is a "shadow cabinet member"..........he is also a lawyer with a speciality in IT.......................time I had a word with him I guess.............yes I am a party member and he did send a Christmas card.............so did our leader of the opposition...............
British jurisdiction?.............I guess it is up to us limeys to start it off?
Wish me luck guys :)
Cheers
-
will be interesting if you can find anything out about that po box...which is probably all that it is...but who owns it?
the host cogentco.com seems to specialize in sleeze. along with coolwebsearch, which i have to guess right now is connected to coolfreehost.com. coolfreehost.com offers free hosting of adult content. its home to other great sites:
Russian Kiss
rosexxxgarden.com
EUROPEAN HOLES
teensparadise.com
3D erotica
and thats just on 66.250.74.* so far.
one of the main advertisers is the "evidence eliminator" amybe a good emailing campaign could put some pressure on them to remove any ads on sites hosted by Cogent Communications.
if it can be proven that these so called programs are indeed trojans/virus then micro soft would have to give us the bounty they offer for virus writers
-
Hmmm,
Good info Tedob1,
We are heading towards an election year...............could make a nice byline?..........neither like nor trust politicos, but there are times when I am prepared to make exceptions........if only to "prove the rule".
However, If I could just link one kiddie prOn site to them they are history.................guess they will be too careful for that :(
Still it would be nice to get a question asked by a front bench spokesman in our Houses Of Parliament? (our equivalent of Congress I guess?).............might rattle their cages a bit?
"Time to chip away at the boulder folks"??
It would be nice to see the AO gang get a result :D
-
MAXIMUMHOST.COM which seems to have all these ip addys will throw someone off for spamming. their pretty careful to stay inside the law (barely legal teens type of thing) i dont think any kiddie port found on a related site could be pinned to them
from what ive gathered cogento communications inc is a major player with large investors. this kind of publicity could really hurt (Cogent Communications Group Inc (COI))
Cogent Communications is headquartered at 1015 31st Street, NW, Washington, D.C. 20007. For more information, Cogent Communications can be reached at (202) 295-4264 or via email at [email protected].
-
would something like this be legal to send?
While investigating a despicable product that is distributed from your network, coolwebsearch which is made to ravage personal computer world wide. It was brought to my attention that a great many of your customers deal in porn.
I don’t believe people investing in your company are fully aware of this.
-
Kind of funny that on Cogent Communications' website, under their "Acceptable Use Policy"
it lists the following prohibited uses:
6. Introduction of malicious programs into the Cogent network or servers or other products and services of Cogent (e.g., viruses, trojan horses and worms).
11. Using any program/script/command, or sending messages of any kind, designed to interfere with, or to disable a user's terminal session.
In my thinking CWS is exactly the above.
-
Hmmm
How about:
"Whilst restoring control of a private PC to its rightful owner, it has come to my attention that the offending software, coolwebsearch, is apparently being distributed from your network?
It also appears that a significant number of the customers that you host, manage pornographic websites? I wonder if you appreciate the effect that this information might have on your stockholders. Or indeed, if you are aware of this situation at all?
Assuming that you are not, might I ask if you are prepared to fully co-operate with the Federal Bureau of Investigation, the United States Secret Service, and the British Authorities in resolving this matter?
If so, perhaps you would be so good as to provide the names and contact details of your corporate officers who will deal with the matter.
Naturally, I would not wish to authorise the continuation of a process that may damage a respectable organisation, endanger the employment of its staff, or financially harm its respectable investors.
However, if it transpires that your security has been compromised, I do insist upon your fullest co-operation. I assure you that this will remain a discrete process involving my organisation and the appropriate authorities."
The reply to that should be very interesting :D
Cheers
EDIT: Nice one Meeeeeeeeee...........we now have them under their own terms and conditions?
-
Spyware has become increasingly agressive in the revenue making schemes for popular free apps and web sites that run (or try to run) campaigns for you to buy more ****. Not too long ago, I installed a shareware/freeware app without any protection and OMG...
pop up's from hell (Gator)
This Casino game that takes the entire screen and shows up over and over again...
Your homepage is changed (Mine went from Google to MySearch)
...and the performance of the machine dwindled along with IE taking forever to paint.
Asswipes I tell you. Asswipes :(