-
Digicrime.com
I searched the forums and found only one topic on this website and it was a little outdated....
I was screwing around with my McAfee and came across a "banned URL" so I checked it out and it was Digicrime.com.
The site is suppose to do funky stuff to your computer but it didn't on mine (i've got Active X locked with authorization)
The previous thread spoke of nearly nothing about this site and it seems to have evolved (grown/improved whatever) since it's post in sept '01.
Does anyone else know about this site? Just curious to what it is and why McAfee would lock it out and not sites like HDC or 2600?
-
When I go to the URL it says unresolved hostname :confused:
And I dont use a firewall, only an anonymous proxy... Weird
-
acidspectrum, you forgot to put the www at the front of digicrime.com
-
I just tried going there and McAfee stopped me too.
It reports the site as having possible hostile content ...
so I will join tyger_claw in his curiosity ... what's out there?
Cheers,
BrainStop
-
Not much. just cruised through it and got the ever happy BSOD and then the fake it is now safe to turn off your computer... then it forwards you to their main homepage...
that was it.
-
It has some nice examples on how to perform exploits through websites. :)
Edit:
Such as sending an email from them to you (if it was your website) so you would get their email address. There are others but i didnt' play around too long.
I remember when this first 'aired' on AO. :)
-
All these comments are great, but it has yet to fill my thurst for knowledge....
Why is this site stopped by McAfee and not others.....
On top of that, I checked the other (of 2) sites that are claimed to be hostile sites....
The other is an ISP!
Wierd.... very wierd...?
-
Because the site makes a point of 'insulting' McAfee. They pointedly say MCAfee doesn't protect you from hostile intent. That's why they stuck it in the 'banned' section.
I believe.
-
Try http://links.userfriendly.org/linkto....digicrime.com by redirecting through another site, I am not sure if mcafee will block it.
-
-
Yeah, she picked it up!
This is the other site that's banned... ISP mclain.wa.com
-
Yeah DigiCrime.com has a malicious code in it. Its been up for at least several years... :)
-ura
-
Good thing McAffee protected me from it though... I visited it about a year ago and was (*very*) scared because it came up asking about Unsafe stuff, virus, trojans, etc... I just yanked the phone line out and did a full scan after that... :) I haven't visited it recently, but I don't plan on it either..., my Virus Definitions are outdated... I guess that if you have the power, your use of it is politically modivated...
-Tim_axe
-
Eh... most of the stuff I've seen at DigiCrime seems a bit dated, these days... but funny how a lot of it still works. Often fun to go point something like Lynx or Wget at it and read through the code just to see what they're really doing (like opening a window to fully eclipse your desktop and display a weird message). I think I still have an old Javascript page to annoy the you-know-what out of someone who has JavaScript turned on... pops up every few seconds and tells them they have it turned on, that they should turn it off, that it's still on, that they haven't turned it off yet, etc... really annoying stuff (ie. I was bored when I wrote it).