Re: Stopping a Virus Writer
Quote:
Originally posted here by jett1960
New here!
We have banned this guy several times but he keeps finding a way to change his IP address and keeps coming back.
This statement implies that the MOD's are banning this person via his/her IP address. If that's the case, it may be as simple as tracing the current IP address back to the ISP and then reporting him/her to the ISP. Usually at an e-mail address like "abuse@his/herISP.com".
Cheers:
Extremely Long and Detailed...
Foxyloxley : I've been dealing with the backside stuff for almost a year now (or so it seems). I did not create the Forum, nor am I fluent in all that vB can do for me. As an Admin Assistant, I can learn software quickly when it makes sense. vB doesn't always make sense to me. I also just deleted ~4k users, and have about 37k threads waiting for double checks (they're about 18 months old) before we totally delete them.
DISLEX : I've held off on ramping up the warnings posted to the group. Those who have been tangling with him, are getting PMs (Private Messages) from me to ignore everything they get from unknown IDs and to block them immediately. I do want to re-write the entire Forum's FAQ, but that takes time and needs to be approved by the Forum Owners who are busy running their own business to keep this afloat. I'm just a lowly volunteer who's a good friend of their's and sits at a desk all day waiting for (real) work to come in.
As for time line of attacks ? I tend to get an IM via AIM from DirkBlackwell about 5-10 minutes after someone posts about the users: hitoll or hedgiemommie . Hitoll and hedgiemommie are a couple (or so I'm told). Hitoll is apparently gay, but I have nothing against that...40% of my friends are Family.
Hitoll's data:
IP registered with: Aim Chat: Yahoo! ID:
hitoll, [email protected]; 207.191.206.208 dirkblackwell hitoll2
207-191-206-208.cpe.ats.mcleodusa.net is in Louisiana?
hitoll2, [email protected];
207.191.206.208 dirkblackwell hitoll2
hitoll2525, [email protected]207.191.201.59 dirkblackwell hitoll2
Hedgiemommie's data:
hedgiemommie, [email protected] 207.191.220.68
207-191-220-68.cpe.ats.mcleodusa.net
kaiteedydlies, (deleted as it looked like the person he was hunting) 152.163.100.195 cache-rtc-ad01.proxy.aol.com
kristyfriends, 152.163.100.198 (cache-rtc-ad04.proxy.aol.com) [email protected]
Anuslicker, Pokeypete, and such deleted without regard to where created...
SUSPECT (but not 100% sure yet): Hedgehogsrock88, 68.202.157.37, (37.157.202.68.cfl.res.rr.com) and 68.202.157.138, (138.157.202.68.cfl.res.rr.com)
I've been told by DirkBlackwell, that I "took out" 4 of his computers and half of his home town. :D Sadly, I know he's found another ID to use, and we think it's: hedgehog69
Hedgehog69's data:
hedgehog69, [email protected] 64.12.116.195
cache-mtc-ad01.proxy.aol.com
152.163.100.195 AOL
152.163.100.198 AOL
205.188.116.201 AOL
205.188.117.7 AOL
64.12.116.195 AOL
64.12.116.198 AOL
We've also been just deleting all IDs created using obscene language, as I'm not wasting my time with all those junk yahoo.com accounts.
Is there anything else I can pull together to help with getting this under control?
Yes, we have logs...lots of logs...
I have logs that tell me that a user has used a particular IP address. I'm not sure where I would find time stamp data...I'm sure it's available. Everything else seems to be. :rolleyes:
The key here, is that I've been told they are using Qwest...and I'm not seeing Qwest IPs. Do they "sub-let" buckets of addresses from AOHell?
Re: Yes, we have logs...lots of logs...
Quote:
Originally posted here by Tindala
I have logs that tell me that a user has used a particular IP address. I'm not sure where I would find time stamp data...I'm sure it's available. Everything else seems to be. :rolleyes:
The key here, is that I've been told they are using Qwest...and I'm not seeing Qwest IPs. Do they "sub-let" buckets of addresses from AOHell?
Who "told" you they were using Qwest? The IP's you have list above for Hedgehog69 all trace back to AOL.
There is a phone number for the abuse line at AOL 703-265-4670, I am not sure if that will get you anything, but it might be worth a try.
Cheers:
Details from one of my staff....
Hi Sandra
My first one was from [email protected] It was titled jokes and said
something like here's some jokes. It gave me the W32/Mitglieder.cg virus.
This one is called Morphine. It gave me 5 different things.
thehedgieden@hotmail [1]. com->(morphine)
cmdrun.exe ->(Morphine)
No spaces in either of them and my virus program can't remove them but says it has
stopped them from accessing my computer.
The other 3 are security risks.
MediaAcc.dll -> (UPX) named W32/Windu.F
MediaAccess.exe ->(UPX) same name as above W32/Windu.F
MediaAcck.exe ->(UPX) Security risk W32/Windu.D
The virus program deleted them.
This second one came over msn from a Chad Cortese who is TucknRoll on here. Chad
hasn't got hedgies, I have his, so he doesn't come on anymore but I wonder if this
is coincidence that it came from another CnQ member. Ok, I'm getting paranoid.
lol
We went to the computer store where we got the computer and the guy there looked up
the two top ones and said they are nasty and partly undetectable which is why the
virus program can't delete them.
My husband went on some sites and they said they are low risk and easily removed.
Ya right, that's why I can't remove them. ARGHHHHH
It would be interesting to know which one Tawana got as she must be having real
problems.
I was talking to Blueberrybuds, Yeah I know unbelievable, lol She said she is
having wierd issues with her computer. She also said Hitol has told her he is
badmouthing her all over.
If I think of anything else I'll let you know.
Nancy