Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Questions about Linux

Question Questions about Linux

I'm going to admit this right away...I've never used Linux before.

But...I am EXTREMELY interested in learning how.

I'm currently running Mac OsX...[I've been a mac user for years]...[and Windoze 2000...but that is a computer that my college supplied]

I'm wondering what I will need to get started as far as hardware... as a student I can't afford to spend a lot of money buying a brand new computer....But there are lots of second hand computers for sale that are quite reasonable...

and i've also heard that it can be difficult to instal linux...

when I inquire about linux, either the people that I have asked have never used it before, or they aren't able to give me any straight answers to any of my questions [which leads me to believe that they don't use it very often]....

I noticed that a lot of people on AntiOnline use it...maybe you would also tell me why you like it...or why you don't.

thanks

well im a bit of a linux newbie too.. as a matter of fact, im using a winux (Windows + Linux) box..

I have Windows2000 Professional, Windows 2000 Advanced Server, Windows 98 and RedHat Linux in one box.

If you're new.. choose Red Hat or Mandrake. its not hard to install, not like Debian.

The installatioin sequence of Red Hat is self explainatory and doesnt need wide computer knowledge to install it.

and since you are used with Mac and Windows.. In the installation Process insall KDE. and not Gnome.

coz KDE is windows like.

There's nothing hard about linux as long as you are eager to learn it..

i like linux coz in linux, you can configure almost 95% of it. not like Windows where you just click click click. atleast in linux.. i can tell what is going on and how its done..

Talking thanks!

that's exactly what i want!

an OS that i can use where i can see exactly what is going on