Thread: Learning Linux

Learning Linux

Ok, I am a complete newbie to Linux. I've been using MS-DOS since the mid 80's but I don't know any *nix. Lets put it this way, I don't know any commands, don't know C or anything.

What I have. I set up RH 7.2 on a pentium 75 - it's all installed and ready to go. I've set it up with no gui - only command prompt.

What I need. Some links to places I can learn the basics. ie - directory traversals to running programs, stopping services, installing/uninstalling programs, etc.

The goal. To set it up as a straight firewall/proxy server. Now for this I can look at this thread, but I need the basics before I start that.

Anyone have some good links? I'm interested in learning Linux and C (I already have an advanced knowledge of Java so theoretically I should be able to pick it up easily). Hope someone can help me - I know I came to the right place!
    - Stronzo

\"Vini, Vici, Vidi\"
    I came, I saw, I conquered.
    - Julius Caesar

Heyaz

Try this link there's alot of info about getting started and even a few links to the "more advanced" topics

http://www.linux.com/learn/

Regards

Bad_Karma

Hi Stronzo!

Good day to you! Aside from the cool site given by Bad_Karma, here are some additonal cool links that would help you in Linux as well as in learning C:

www.linuxplanet.com
    www.yolinux.com/TUTORIALS/
    www.thelinuxgurus.org/tutorials.shtml
    www.hardcorelinux.com/
    www.webwareindex.com/tutorials/C.html
    www.programmersheaven.com/

Have Fun!

I expect to pass through life but once. If, therefore, there be any kindness I can show, or any good thing I can do for any fellow being, let me do it now… as I shall not pass this way again. " ~ William Penn

I'm a newbie to RH myself. I found some interesting info at Linux.org. Hope this helps.
    We Know Who You Are.....

Computer Forensics
    www.1001tutorials.com/c/index.shtml

for your foray into C.