Thread: So I just port scanned myself...

So I just port scanned myself...

I'm new to all this computer securty, but lately it has caught my interest. I downloaded a few utilities for port scanning and the like. Just now I got done port scanning myself and I found that the telnet, FTP, as well as HTTP ports (23,21,80) are all open!!

I just tried to connect to myself via telnet and it asks me a password, I tried all the passwords I have ever used and I wouldent let me in. That leads me to believe somebody has givin me a backdoor of some sort. Then I tried to connect via HTTP and it gives me a user login prompt much like a pay site would. Try to FTP in and again I'm confronted with a password prompt, tried all known passwords I have and nothing.

As for the system I have I'm running a P4 @ 1.4 ghz, 256 Mb ram, 40 gig HD, Netgear wireless router with one wireless connect, and mac connected via ethernet, and a Toshiba Cable modem plugged up to the router. Oh yeah, I'm also running Norton Personal Firewall and it returned 13 open ports. So what do you think computer security gurus? Is my box owned right now (most likely )?? How can I go about fixing this? Thanks in advance.

Jonesy

Umm...might wanna go into your firewall config and manually set to close those ports, as well as updating your virus definitions on your virus-scanner and scan ya system. Nothing too intense I can think to tell ya, that's basically it. If none of that works (it should), change firewalls. I've not ever used Norton Personal Firewall, so I can't say if it's bad or good, but I know some other ones out there are good. Might wanna check into getting Sygate. It's a good one, .