Thread: someone is impersonating me!

someone is impersonating me!

Hi,
    I am one of a group managing a mailing list. We delisted a subscriber for using profanities. The guy goes haywire and sends mail using my e-mail address threatening to close us down. How can we stop him.
    Our list is run by listserv at st.sJohn's university in NY.
    Thanks for all tips
    Zinga (I am a newbie)

Chances are he just spoofed your email addy. You use a SMTP client server, and manually type in the "From" address and such. If you examine the headers between your email and his, you should notice some differences. To my knowledge, it can't really be stopped, since he's using a foreign host.

Maybe someone else can add to this. Good luck anyway.
    God bless,
    --PhirePhreak
    I know you\'re out there. I can feel you now. I know that you\'re afraid. You\'re afraid of us. You\'re afraid of change. I don\'t know the future. I didn\'t come here to tell you how this is going to end. I came here to tell you how it\'s going to begin. I\'m going to hang up this phone, and then I\'m going to show these people what you don\'t want them to see. I\'m going to show them a world without you, a world without rules and controls, without borders or boundaries. A world where anything is possible. Where we go from there is a choice I leave to you.

AntiOnline Newbie
    Even some Exchange servers that have not been properly patched and/or loacked down will allow a knowledgable user to be able to bouce an SMTP message off of it without requiring any authentication (not that I have any first-hand knowledge of this ;-]). Its nearly impossible to stop. As PhirePhreak said earlier, if it comes down to preventing trouble, you'll have to compare the message headers, as they will shed light on the fact it is not you.

Contact his ISP. You can probably start by looking at the email headers to find that out like Phire mentioned.

They should take this type of abuse seriously.