Thread: " port scanner problem"

Question " port scanner problem"

well,,, i'm new to the port scanner software ,, and when i first used it on my own system to check theopen ports on my pc ( the software i used was superscan...) so... when i performed the test, and i clicked on one of its options called interfaces it showed the following results

address:127.0.0.1
    broadcast:255.255.255.255
    netmask:255.0.0.0
    up:yes
    point to point:no
    loopback:yes
    can broadcast:yes
    can multicast:yes

can u plz explain what does this listing mean in simple terms explainng each term barring the address option.

thanx in advance
    vpandiya

it's providing a listing for your loopback address (err. one of them as loopback can be anything in the 127.0.0.0 network). it's a local interface only, so theoretically, an remote host cannot directly access it.

address: the ip or internet address of the interface

broadcast: the broadcast address of the network the interface resides on. a broadcast address (as it's name implies) serves as a means to transmit information to every host in the network. in reality this is only true of non-session based transports (ie. udp, icmp, etc.)

netmask: used to identify the network portion of the internet address. in this case the ip is 127.0.0.1, if you 'and' it with 255.0.0.0 this will yield 127.0.0.0 which is known as the network address.
    another common notation for netmasks is ip/bit count.
    ie: 127.0.0.1/8
    where 8 is the number of bits set in the netmask. as a binary representation 255.0.0.0 could look like:

|11111111|00000000|00000000|00000000|

(note the number of bits that are set is equal to 8)

for the ip address 127.0.0.1, using in the same representation would be:

|01111111|00000000|00000000|00000000|

up: just means that the interface is up (enabled, driver is attached, and the device as far as the system can tell is functioning)