Thread: CCNA Cert Value

Question CCNA Cert Value

Hi all. I am pretty new to the Security scene, and to AO, of course. I would like to know how valued you guys feel the CCNA is to this industry. I will be taking the exam in a couple weeks, and I would appreciate pointers from anyone that has taken the exam. The latest exam for this is 640-607 apparently, and it now includes router simulations for you to enter commands, so I hear. Any suggestions are appreciated.

i'm new too, however i think the ccna certification might get you a networking job that pays not bad. though in my opinion, ccna is just a stepping stone toward a ccnp, or a ccie.
    Benzene... simply C6H6
    Don\'t breathe it in!

A CCNA cert is an excellent place to begin the certification path.

CCNA

The only reason I took the class was because it was recommended to me by the Director of Security when I was looking to get into the department. I just wanted to know how much of a part it plays in the Security industry. I feel like it helped me to understand the inner workings of a switched network much better than I did. I thought it was pretty cool. I was just wondering how actively I should pursue this Cert - depending on the value it brings to the security industry.

CCNA is a good stepping stone and definitely something good to have on a resume for persuing a networking job (and doesn't hurt for security); however, it is only a stepping stone and maybe not the end point...Consider getting a CCNP, CCIE, those are very well respected certs, but they are mainly geared towards network and cisco stuff...

On the security front, consider getting something like a SANS GIAC certification or one of the Checkpoint security certifications...

Check out :
    http://www.antionline.com/certifications.php?s=

Neb