Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help on which os to choose

Help on which os to choose

I’m stuck on which os to choose for a pc ive got that I want to use as a server/gateway for my 2 pcs, I don’t know anything about any os's apart from windows so I want something that’s pretty easy to use.

Here are the system specs

P1 166
    32mb of ram
    onboard 1mb video card

It’s going to be linked to the others via hub..one pc is on 98 the other xp, the 166 will have my adsl modem on it (usb) and will share the connections to the other two pcs. It will also be used for some p2p downloading and I would want to be able to transfer files.

I’m also new to networking (kinda like jumping in at the deep end with bricks round my feet isn’t it ) so im looking for something that is going to be easy to network, secure and not windows (I cant reach the reset button to easily ) and I would like a desktop as well. I know I might not be able to get all this but any comments are welcome.

Thanks,
    Black Mantis

If you don't know anything about any other OS's except Windows, and you want to use this machine as a gateway for your network, I would highly recommend Windows 2000/NT 4. I understand you don't want to use Windows, but since this system will be your primary internet-facing node, you don't want to use something that you are unfamiliar with (ie - Linux, BSD). You would be much better off using the moderate stability and security of Windows 2000/NT 4 first, and then migrating over to the flexibility, scalability, and security of a Unix flavor (like OpenBSD or FreeBSD) after you've become familiar with it. Windows 2000/NT 4 may limit what you want to do initially, but since you are familiar with it you should at least be able to keep the holes plugged. Unix is not something to try on a whim for a system flagged as being a gateway to the rest of your network. You could quickly find yourself under attack, and you wouldn't know how to defend yourself.