Thread: Gateway 400SP

Question Gateway 400SP

does anyone have the $800 gateway notebook..

thinking about buying it but wanna know how is the battery life & is the Hardware inside any good

No but

I don't have one of the notebooks but I don't recommend buying Gateway at all. I work at a computer shop as a technician and I'd probably venture to say that %50 of all the computers we work on are Gateway models 25% laptops and 25% desktops. That's a lot of computers when your repairing around 50-100 gateways on a busy month. I recommend Dell laptops even though they might be a little more expensive (you can always go on eBay or check Dell's refurbished section as well) as a better choice. I think since I've been doing computer repair for about 3 years I've personally worked on about 10-20 Dell laptops. From experience they are a better machine. As fas as your battery power concerns it really depends on what you're going to be doing with the computer. The more apps you run at once will determine the battery power as well as if you are planning on gaming with it. If all your doing is planning on checking your email and writing some documents, spreadsheets, etc. you will be pretty well off in having more than enough to last you through most of the day. Also, almost every new laptop on the markety has a built in feature that slows the processor down as the battery wears down to minimize the amount of battery wasted. One thing to keep in mind as well is if you are planning on using this at work or at home. If so, you can always just plug it into the wall (if location permits). Or, if you're planning on using it in the car pick up a car adapter for it which will help a GREAT deal. Hope I helped. Peace.
    Risk everything, or gain nothing.

Talking Laptop....

thanks for telling me that dude....
    i would have had a $800.00 crapper on my hand..

is =acer= any good....
    i saw one @ compusa for like $1,100