Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Linux or Windows?

Question Linux or Windows?

I have always wondered about this question so I thought this would be the best place to ask it.

I am getting second computer in a week or so just for kicks. Its an old PC my neighbor is getting rid of. It has a pentium 2 processor and just some horrible stats. So I was thinking of putting Linux on it. But is Linux really better than Windows?

This may sound pretty lame but I have never used Linux before so I dont know. I mean if Linux is free and better then why do ppl buy Windows for lots of money? Can someone give me some advice on which OS to put on my new PC when I get it?

Thanks,
    Junk

It depends what you want to do with it, and how much effort you want to put in.

Windows is easier to pick up, because most people already use it, and more things are GUI'd by default, whereas although there is a huge amount of support available on the web for Linux, you have to put the effort in to find it.

Another thing you need to think about is the availability of applications. Although most software is free for Linux, it is not always as good as that which is written for Windows. However Windows software is quicker to be exploited, because more people have it.

If you have the patience and desire to explore then use Linux. It would be something new for you, and a good learning opportunity. I'm not going to say which is better, because they both have their good and bad points.

Oh and most home users will buy M$ products because that's all they know of.

Just my $0.02
    \"Death is more universal than life; everyone dies but not everyone lives.\"
    A. Sachs

Well there are number of reasons for that most people use windows cause its easy to install. Another reason can be people don't trust LINUX, i mean since its open source since windows is from Microsoft and most people trust Microsoft here (what a pitty, with so much leak wholes and other flaws).