Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Linux steep learning curve

Linux steep learning curve

Hey guys. I've been a microsoft goon for a long time. I've been doing system admin/troubleshooting stuff for about 10 years, and getting paid pretty well for it. I kind of pride myself on being a fairly clueful person, I've pulled of tricks that should not have worked, supported tons of production machines and kept uptime on critical boxes high, etc. I'm entirely self taught and have managed to learn SQL, Exchange, server, and a ton of apps.

My problem is, at my current client, they are uh, shall we say, cheap. They need a cache/proxy service to help 'speed up' web traffic. I know squid does a good job, and so I threw together some parts and did a network install of redhat 9. Easy enough.

My problem is, redhat installed squid, but it doesnt seem to be running. I tried to install webmin with an RPM and I double click on it, it hops from 1/3 to 1/2 done and then the window goes away. So I downloaded a new build, managed to do the make and whatevers and install the new build of squid. It still doesnt seem to be running.