Thread: My third trogan in the past two weeks

Unhappy My third trogan in the past two weeks

I run on Windows Xp home and I have now found my third Trojan of the past two weeks in this folder, C:\Program Files\Windows NT\Kernel32 , and the Trojan was named as hider.exe

Do I need this folder our can it safely be deleted. Any information on this folder would be great.

third trojan in two weeks? Ok i am also a newbie and i dont know if you should remove it for certain (even though i know that normally it shouldn't be such an easy task) but..... do you use any firewall protection or antivirus software? If not consider that carefully....also consider carefully becoming a linux user.....
    Cheers
    Is that the place where I am supposed to say sth clever and brilliant so that everybody understands how clever nice guy I am????
    Screw you guys I am going home!-Kartman

[jk]Seems you are not practicing safe computing.. get a condom..[/jk]

I would not recomend deleteing the C:\Program Files\Windows NT Folder. If it has a subfolder Kernal32 It could be sus..

A quick search on the file you mention yeilded the following..

http://antivirus.nih.gov/archives/floodvar.asp
    http://www.google.com.au/search?sour...&q=hider%2Eexe

You may be best advised to D/L The Cleaner from Moosoft.. and remove the crap properly..

Cheers
    "Consumer technology now exceeds the average persons ability to comprehend how to use it..give up hope of them being able to understand how it works." - Me http://www.cybercrypt.co.nr

Yes I do use Norton firewall 2004 and Norton antivirus 2004. And the way I found the Trojans is from the cleaner, and yes I have deleted the trogans. I was just wondering if it was ok to delete the folder holding them because it has other files in it. I would love to linux but i have smaller ones using the computer to, and i don't think the would like if i changed the OS.