Thread: what is telnet?

what is telnet?

hello frends,
    i am new to networks and security...i have to and am interested in travelling a long waywith help of you
    coming to the point.....i want to know completely about telnet and telnetting.what is telnet and what is it used for?
    thanx4all

AntiOnline n00b
    hi
    Telnet is a protocol for remote computing on the Internet. It allows a computer to act as a remote terminal on another machine, anywhere on the Internet. This means that when you telnet to a particular host and port, the remote computer (which must have a telnet server) accepts input directly from your computer (which must have a telnet client) and output for your session is directed to your screen. There are many library and information resources that are accessible through telnet.
    Google Web Definations
    hope it clears a few doubts

--TCP/IP by Douglas E. Comer-- IMHO this is the best def i got about TELNET

TCp/Ip protocol suit includes a simple remote terminal protocol called TELNET. it allows a user at one site to establish a TCp connection to login server at another. TELNET then passes keystrokes from the user's keyboard directly to the remote machine. TELNEt also carries output from the remote machine back to the user's screen. the service is called transparent because it gives the appearence that the user's keyboard and display are attached to the remote computer.

Usually TELNET client software allows the user to specify a remote machine either by giving it's domain name or IP address..

Telnet offers three basic services

[*] it defines a Network Virtual Terminal that provides a standard interface to remote system. Clients program do not have to ubderstand the details of all possible remote system; they are built to use the standard interface.

[*] it includes a mechanism that allows the client and server to negotiate options and it provide a set of standard options.