Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What can I do to stop

Question What can I do to stop

I've got a Microsoft Infastructure class this semester and need some help with security. We have established a domain of about 25 computers with a variaty of OS(XP pro,2000 pro,NT workstation,NT 4.0,2000 server,2000 advanced and a fedora server and a couple of Fedora workstations) Each person in the class has a diffrent OS and we have learned how to get them to all work together. But now that we have most of the bugs worked out the instructer has a new twist, One member of my class we have no idea who, has been instructed to hack us at will and do as much damage as he can. I am running a 2000 advanced server as a Domain controller with WINS and DNS on it. Last week he pretty much had his way with a couple of peoples machines and I don't want to be next, can anyone give me any ideas? Please remember I'm still new at this. I'm smart enough to know that I know nothing.

Search google and this site for security related terms... that's where you should start... Though I may be inclined to help you since minus the WINS server, that's exactly what my desktop machine is running... don't ask why.

Can you d/l and install stuff, or are you stuck with configuring what you have? I'd assume you can get updates, get all them of course.

If you can, d/l like zone alarm first, then research. Wait for a few more posts, there's alot o' experienced people on here. They'll hook you up with all sorts of stuff.

Do you have to keep all your services operational? if not you can shut off some of them. Though not all since you've made the leap to domain controller already. If someone knows how to shut all that **** off after actually becoming domain controller you'd be helping me as well as him