Thread: good exploit site and some help for wargames

good exploit site and some help for wargames

hello all
    im new in this parts so i need to know a good exploit site about windows "holes" for a wargame im going to make with my friends, i have the tuturiol thet you guys posted so if you have any advice just let ripp

tks for your time

Surfing about on http://www.securityfocus.com will help you find a fair amount of security vurnelabilities in their bugtraq section.
    -HDD

For actual analysis of potential holes nothing beats nmap. If you plan on running a Windows machine as the attacking box, nmap can now be ran off of a Windows machine using the libpcap program.

you could runa vuln scanner like nesuus I know its not "leet"

HDD: I agree with you on securitfocus. They have a nice database of programs/services and their vulnerabilities.

Originally posted here by Nick Nicklyn
    For actual analysis of potential holes nothing beats nmap. If you plan on running a Windows machine as the attacking box, nmap can now be ran off of a Windows machine using the libpcap program.
    I somewhat disagree with you. While nmap will tell a potiential attacher which ports may be open, there are way better tools for further assesment. nessus is a vulnerability scanner which will incorporate a nmap scan. It will give you a full report on which versions of services are running and potiential vulnerabilities and where to find more info about said vulnerability.

SARA is also a decent vuln. scanner. I use it in addition to nessus.

Languard is also pretty good, but its commercial.. and the evaluation version can only be used on your private LAN.

Retina is also good, but again commercial.

I would go with nessus if you have the knowledge to setup a linux box.
    Just make sure to download and update the plugins.
    If you don't have the knowlege to setup your own linux box... run a live version from your CDROM. knoppix-std is pretty good, but there are several others.