Thread: Blocking kazaa on a home netowrk

Blocking kazaa on a home netowrk

hello there,
    my first post in a while and i have a question about blocking kazaa...

what i have at my house is a server using ICS for the 'net and 3 computers running XP pro behind the server, we all connect to the server through a hub on an ethernet card. The server connects to the net through a dialup modem (dynamic IP).

What i'd like to know is can kazaa be blocked from getting through to the net at all?
    i've tried various rules on my firewall to try and achieve this with no result, ive tried blocking udp ports, tcp ports and stuff like that with no success

Is there a way to maybe runa proxy on the server and block kazaa traffic that way?

Also, linux is currently not an option as i recently made a real mess of what used to be my linux box when trying to upgrade my firewall, so i now rnu win2k on the server instead

any software needed needs to be free too, as im a uni student on a bit of a budget

if anyone can help me it would be much appreicated
    Just wait till i get my slappin gloves on.....

I suggest using group policy to not allow Kazaa to run at all----it can check the hash so that an exe name change would still not let it run-- good luck!

"Usually" Kazaa runs on port 1214. Try blocking it.

mrleachy: You're a linux dude... right? If so, check out the following link.
    That should do the trick for you.

Just reread your post... see you're using m$.
    Maybe setup a cheap linux box to act as your router/firewall? Not too hard...

If not, then create custom firewall rules to block it.

http://www.antionline.com/showthread...hreadid=255614

I suggest using group policy to not allow Kazaa to run at all----it can check the hash so that an exe name change would still not let it run-- good luck!
    Thats a good idea, but you'd have to find every hash for every version out there.