Thread: IP-Table again

IP-Table again

I made some search here, and i found many post regarding IPtables. however they were inadequade to my problem.

I am really new to iptable so I have no Idea how to use it. I want to block the ports that I am not using.
    I have
    25 SMTP, I want to use it only to send no to receive, is that possible?
    53 I guess this one I can do anything can I?
    not 80.
    what hell is 515 printer listening to and 578 submission . I also have the higher BIND port 953 open
    I wonder. I have mysql l3306 open. but only my pc use it., when I tried to start mysql with the --skip-network apache wouldn't work. so could I just block all the traffic from outside?and I also tried to start my Xserver with --no-listen somethink like that, to avoid any listening.

man I have a lot of open ports.

By the way I am using
    Slackware, apache,mysql,bind,smtp to support my webserver
    Thanks Prophet
    You are what you have conquered not what you have!

They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    I'm no expert ? But I would suggest that for the first step:
    Close ALL ports.
    Then as your apps apply to go online, you can allow / disallow them as you see fit.
    This way is a bit messy, BUT it will show you EXACTLY which app requires which port.

edit< if in doubt; DISALLOW, you can always change your mind later > end edit
    so now I'm in my SIXTIES FFS
    WTAF, how did that happen, so no more alterations to the sig, it will remain as is now

Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

Good Day,

Sometimes it's easier to relate open ports to services and then uninstall or shutdown the services you don't need. Thus the ports will be closed as well.

New distro's come with gui utilities to painlessly walk you through the process.

Also programs like Bastille will assist as well. www.google.com or www.bastille-linux.org/