Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ultimate security for my computer

Post ultimate security for my computer

[gloworange]ULTIMATE SECURITY [/gloworange]

Hi I'm a newbie (and I'm not afriad to admit it)

I want my box to be uber secure. I'm a little paranoid. currently I'm running Zone Alarm Pro, Pest Patrol (which scans for spyware/adware, keyloggers, and malicious cookies), And Norton Antivirus on windows xp with xp firewall turned off for fear of conflicts with ZA. Am I missing something?

Thanks.
    s a s s e r
    [glowpurple]Live your best life - Oprah[/glowpurple]

Re: ultimate security for my computer

Well, if you're looking for "ultimate security" there is lots that you can do. Software-based firewalls (aka Zonealarm) are inherently insecure because the assumption is that the OS that they reside on is insecure. If you want real security, you need to go with something that is either hardware-based or runs at the kernel level. You could put this machine behind a Linux machine doing stateful inspection (although you would have to take the proper precautions when setting this up so that you're not running unecessary services, etc). You could also check out the NSA's guidelines for securing Microsoft Windows XP here. There is lots more that you can do, but these two, combined with what you're currently doing will far surpass the protections that your average home user has implemented, and should assure a reasonable level of security.

Originally posted here by sasser

I want my box to be uber secure. I'm a little paranoid. currently I'm running Zone Alarm Pro, Pest Patrol (which scans for spyware/adware, keyloggers, and malicious cookies), And Norton Antivirus on windows xp with xp firewall turned off for fear of conflicts with ZA. Am I missing something?

Thanks.