Thread: Is somone in my box?

Is somone in my box?

I have been spending a lot of time reading and searching the posts for a way in which to know if my box has been entered from the web...I read a lot about logs and identifying attacks...which logs and where are they within xp professional...Could someone attack my puter through msn or yahoo msgr and how would i know if they did...unless of course they did some damage...I apologize if this is an old or elementary question...Please bear with me I am a NEWBIE...thanks

Look in the Tutorials. Read enough and you can answer your own questions.
    http://www.neg.be/index/?c=7
    Mad Beaver

There have been several attacks for yahoo and msn IM clients.

Google has plenty of documentation about each client.

Make sure you run the latest versions and if you are not at your machine, turn the things off.

Have you had strange activity on your machine that might suggest you have had an

un-wanted visitor?

Advice: Kill the apology/newbie bit. Most on this list don't care as long as you follow site guidelines

and in fact some will give you lame answers just because you hang that sign on yourself.

my box
    I take it that this is your computer

Im not an expert either so i will give it my best shot!

To your first question
    Could someone attack my puter through msn or yahoo msgr