Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sql

Sql

I have just started to learn over the past few weeks, SQL.

I have downloaded and installed mysql interpreter and administrator but everytime i go to connect I get a message that says i can't connect to the localhost and I get the same message when I try to run it through command line.

What exactly does this mean? what other hosts can i try to connect to?

And does anyone have any suggestions as to how I can get started with this?

Any info on SQL and accessing and finding databases is welcome as I am new to SQL and will undoubtedly learn something from every post/reply.

Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Getting Started might help. The error you are getting probably looks like this:

$ mysql msmittens@localhost
    ERROR 1044 (42000): Access denied for user ''@'localhost' to database 'msmittens@localhost'
    If you had other MySQL servers you could remotely connect to them. All that the error is saying is that you do not have permission to connect to the database from the localhost (that is, the account isn't setup). That said, what is the command you are using (specific syntax) and what is the exact error?

BTW, the Developer Zone @ MySQL can be an excellent (and FREE) resource.
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

Hi mom!

Re: Sql

Originally posted here by IcSilk
    I have downloaded and installed mysql interpreter and administrator (...)
    I'm not sure what you mean by this. Did you actually install a SQL-server (or do you have access to a SQL-server?)

What your message is saying is that it cannot connect to a SQL server. It's either not there, or not configured with the username and password you provided.
    I wish to express my gratitude to the people of Italy. Thank you for inventing pizza.

The server is there - and here is the error that I recieve -