Thread: Career in IT

Career in IT

Hi,
    I'm a freshman in High School. I'm starting to get a fairly good grasp on IT and security. I'm pretty sure that I want my future career to be in the IT field. Being a teenager, one of my worst fears is that I'd end up with a mundane job helping mindless users find the start menu. My dream job would be to end up working for a federal agency like the FBI or NSA. I'm doing extremely well in school, and I should be able to get into about any college that I want. Does anyone have recommendations or experience about what I should do to work at meeting this goal?
    Thank you,
    Jared Stewart
    It is better to die on your feet than to live on your knees.

Hi Jared,

To start with, I can only offer you my experience, and you have to make your own conclusions. That said, I'm also not an IT person, I am a Systems Engineer (quite by accident) and I aspired to be a programmer. If there is one thing that I learned through High School and College, it's that your career is shaped by many, many, many seemingly random events. For instance, my dad finished college with a Bachelor's in Physical Chemistry, and he does website design now.

I'm curious as to why you want to work IT in FBI or NSA? I'm asking because when I was young, I had no idea what IT was, and I thought IT had EVERYTHING to do with computers: programming, networking, design.... But, judging by your posts, you seem to already have a good grasp of the concepts. If I had to guess, I'd say you want to do all the cool stuff there like cryptography. My one advice (and this is advice for anyone that wants to do just about anything with computers other than data entry) is:

MATH, MATH, MATH.

Math is to computers what weight lifting is to athletes: it seems like it has nothing to do with the sport, but it has everything to do with it.