Thread: Need some Jobing Help

Need some Jobing Help

Hey All

I am studying Computer science at a uni here in the UK, As part of my course I have the chance to do a year long placement starting in six months time.

I have been applying furiously to many companies and I got an invitation to an interview day.

The invitation I got said the following would be included.

1. two interviews lasting 30 minutes each, one with two IT managers and the other with a rep from Human resources.

2. I am required to do a presentation lasting around 10 minutes followed by a 20 minute question and answer session. This will be to a panel of two IT managers.

As this is my first proper interview outside of going for part time jobs I thought id ask some questions of you guys.

The first question relates to the presentation. Thus the invitation says " the topic does not have to be related to your academic studies or career choice". So im pretty stuck as to subject area i should do the presentation on. anyone got any ideas I could possibly do the presentation on ?

Secondly anyone here been in a face to face interview with IT managers before ? if so and you have any tips or insight to help me then please let me know.

The company i applied for is a large financial institution (its group of companies include in the areas of Funds, research and asset management, bank and trust funds etc).

The Job/position is for the Internship Program in IT.

As far as a subject, pick something that you are familiar with, comfortable with and that would make a good presentation.

I would lean heavily on course related material if I was in that situation simply because it would be something I was familiar with.