Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: Partitioning Software with Vista

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Agony Aunty-Online Moira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,063

    Partitioning Software with Vista

    Does anyone know of any non destructive partitioning software that works in Vista? Partition Magic doesn't seem to and I'd like to make the Vista drive on my laptop a bit bigger. With hindsight it was stupid to make the XP partition larger than the Vista one.
    77 111 105 114 97

    My PGP signature

  2. #2
    Senior Member RoadClosed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    3,834
    Disk manager in Vista has that built right in. They are already "dynamic" and you can extend and shrink partitions at will by right clicking them.

    //EDIT hmmm... since you are dual booting I would back up the entire drive. You might have to edit the boot sector, not sure if vista takes care of that?????? Also if partitition magic doesn't work in Vista try doing it from XP. Have a floppy handy with the boot ini etc on it.
    Last edited by RoadClosed; May 31st, 2007 at 07:25 PM.
    West of House
    You are standing in an open field west of a white house, with a boarded front door.
    There is a small mailbox here.

  3. #3
    Agony Aunty-Online Moira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,063
    Oh, I didn't know that? Even the Home Premium version? Yeah, I've just had a look and you're right. I right clicked one of my drives and got "shrink volume" as an option, but not expand - probably because you need to shrink something first before it will let you expand a volume?
    77 111 105 114 97

    My PGP signature

  4. #4
    Senior Member RoadClosed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    3,834
    That was quick! I edited my last post. Look at the bottom.

    Yeah you can ONLY expand something if you have space. Back up!!!!

    Try shrinking the XP drive and then I would reboot. I am sure Vista would take care of the boot sector but just be cautious.
    West of House
    You are standing in an open field west of a white house, with a boarded front door.
    There is a small mailbox here.

  5. #5
    Agony Aunty-Online Moira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,063
    Thanks that's good advice. In fact, I have recent acronis image copies of both the XP and Vista partitions, because I envisaged having to use disk manager to format the Vista drive from XP and add some space from the data drive, then go into Vista and delete the XP partition so that I got the space back for the data drive. But it's always edgy when you know the backup has to work or you're reinstalling Windows.

    And by the way, Partition Magic wouldn't work in XP either - no idea why! The drives had question marks on and it came up with silly errors if I tried to do anything.
    77 111 105 114 97

    My PGP signature

  6. #6
    Senior Member RoadClosed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    3,834
    The wy I understand it is if XP is ever upgraded to dynamic disks partition magic cannot work because of either licensing or they haven't figured the format. No expert just guessing. So either you upgraded them, they shipped that way or Vista did it. Since you have a backup go for it using Vista.
    West of House
    You are standing in an open field west of a white house, with a boarded front door.
    There is a small mailbox here.

  7. #7
    Senior Member RoadClosed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    3,834
    Oh... almost forgot, you can make a recovery disk from within the windows backup utility and boot from it should something horrible go wrong. Like a power outage!
    West of House
    You are standing in an open field west of a white house, with a boarded front door.
    There is a small mailbox here.

  8. #8
    Agony Aunty-Online Moira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,063
    Quote Originally Posted by RoadClosed
    The wy I understand it is if XP is ever upgraded to dynamic disks partition magic cannot work because of either licensing or they haven't figured the format. No expert just guessing. So either you upgraded them, they shipped that way or Vista did it. Since you have a backup go for it using Vista.
    The disks on here are not dynamic - they're basic. I got a warning message when I was about to make a change on the laptop just now to some unallocated space that if I made the disks dynamic I could only boot from the current operating system or something. There's a column in disk management that says basic and that's what gets changed to dynamic if your disks change (I think).

    I'm still in a mess with this laptop. I installed ubuntu which was fine, but by god, no wonder people don't use linux, they don't exactly help you, do they? Going to install a network printer, there's a quick box that comes up with an example of the format used to connect to the printer and when that disappears you're left with no help at all! I know \\server\printer from windows, but I don't know how it's done in linux and you can't guess that sort of thing! No, I'm not surprised ubuntu hasn't been the unqualified success in pre-built machines that some people expected it to be.

    Anyway, I'm getting side tracked. After installing ubuntu, I had to reinstall Vista and I'm now trying to partition the disk. As I have 4 primary partitions already, there's 11 gig space that the partitioner won't do anything with! I fail when I try to make one of the primary partitions logical (it needs more space apparently). I've got this number because I had to make a disk for the root file system in ubuntu and some swap space. That made 4 with vista and ubuntu. However, I'm not getting the option to boot into ubuntu when I switch the computer on now, ie there's no boot loader of any sort. I might just ditch ubuntu, get vista installed and think about a second OS later I'm so, so tired.
    77 111 105 114 97

    My PGP signature

  9. #9
    Senior Member RoadClosed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    3,834
    Earlier I was going to try and get XP to boot by maybe tweaking the boot.ini. Then you could look at disk manager and see whats up with the vista partition. I would bet though if you booted to the DVD and ran repair it would have at least fix the boot issue. Even without a repair disk. It's worked for me a few times already.

    But re-installing is probably what I would have done by now.

    //EDIT the boot loader would have to be able to recognize how vista boots and it would need a small partition at the front of the disk I would think. I don't think any linux loaders recognize Vista. I just looked up an article. The NTFS system in Vista IS NOT THE SAME AS XP, that is why nothing works right now. This has a foce dual boot workaround

    http://www.pro-networks.org/forum/about78184.html
    Last edited by RoadClosed; June 1st, 2007 at 11:59 PM.
    West of House
    You are standing in an open field west of a white house, with a boarded front door.
    There is a small mailbox here.

  10. #10
    Agony Aunty-Online Moira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,063
    Possibly Vista did it. I'll try shrinking and expanding volumes, it sounds very little trouble. And if the worst comes to the worst, I have got the aronis backups. It really never occurred to me that disk management could partition in Vista!

    PS What's an XP dynamic disK?
    Last edited by Moira; May 31st, 2007 at 07:40 PM.
    77 111 105 114 97

    My PGP signature

Similar Threads

  1. Vista - Arrogance & Stupidity
    By acidtone in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: March 26th, 2007, 04:33 PM
  2. Cracking Windows Vista Beta 2 Local Passwords (SAM and SYSKEY)
    By Irongeek in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 12th, 2006, 06:17 AM
  3. New Aim Virus
    By Soda_Popinsky in forum Web Security
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: February 15th, 2004, 03:19 AM
  4. How can you compete with open source?
    By SDK in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 12th, 2004, 03:18 PM
  5. Software rams great firewall of China
    By cwk9 in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: April 18th, 2003, 05:57 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •