Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 64 bit versus 32 bit

Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar

64 bit versus 32 bit

Hello there everyone

My work was kind enough to give me a Xp 64 bit installation CD. So to put it simply, it is worth upgrading Xp sp2 32 bit to Xp 64 bit. Ill be honest - I have no knowledge of 64 bit systems so abit of advice would be quite helpful.

Thank you
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

Hi there Cider,

My work was kind enough to give me a Xp 64 bit installation CD.
    I wonder why?

So to put it simply, it is worth upgrading Xp sp2 32 bit to Xp 64 bit.
    In a word....................... No!

Basically, there is no point in running a 64bit OS if you don't have software that is designed to take advantage of it.

Also, you will have a hell of a problem with device drivers

IMHO the 64bit Win XP was a bit premature............... but that is my personal opinion of course.

In a word....................... No!
    That is all that I requested

I know device drivers will be a problem but to my knowledge 64 bit runs faster - I don't know how much though but if you say Its not really a good option then I will stick to my 32 bit.

Thanks Nihil.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

Hmmm,

to my knowledge 64 bit runs faster
    I don't see how running a 64 bit OS on a 32 bit architecture is going to be faster.

Anyways who gives a sh1t about the OS............ you run applications, and they are 32 bit, so they will be running in some sort of emulation mode.

Don't let me put you off though.......... try running it in a virtual machine perhaps?