Thread: Mandriva 2008.0

Mandriva 2008.0

Mandriva 2008.0

Written by gore

Introduction / Background -

I've been using Mandrake Linux for a little while now. I know it is now called Mandriva, but when I started using it, it was known as Mandrake. 7.1 to be exact.

Back then, Linux wasn't really much like it is now. The ease of installation depended heavily on what distro you had, and not all of them played nice with a new user.

I've been using Linux now for over 7 years. In that time I've literally installed over 200 times. I've used quite a few different distros from time to time, and always had a small select few I keep for use.

When I first used Linux I was very new to computing in general. I had gotten a tech yourself Linux book that came with Caldera Open Linux. This was around 2000. It was also before Caldera or Sco or whatever you want to call them forgot what they were doing in life and went nuts.

Anyway... I started off by trying to install the thing myself without really doing what I should have done, which would be actually following the installation instructions line for line. I instead decided to try and figure out what this all was and ended up not getting to far because the how to didn't make sense at the time. I held off for a while and then when I went to school I installed it on a machine there.

I followed the book this time and got an actual installation going. I was just glad it worked considering I had no permission to install an OS on a school computer for the very first time, and managed to set it up so that the POS machine I was using in there would load Windows by default, and I could use Linux in class. The teacher noticed of course and asked what it was and I told her. She was OK with it and I messed around a bit with that since I literally did an entire semester worth of work in about an hour.