Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: running w7 as limited

Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar

running w7 as limited

Hi ,
    Going abit nuts here
    Want to run as limited user but when wanted to install software, it must prompt for admin credentials if i was to right click > run as administrator. Same for viewing and changing things on the system. It it just saying that you need local admin privledges.

What am I doing wrong?

This might be it, not sure. Im a domain admin but ive taken domain admins out locally of the admin group. When I right click > run as admin I will use a local admin account I created. Am I confusing things here?

UAC slider is at the top :P
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

I never found a good way to do what you want to do. I usually give users admin privileges locally and restrict them at the domain level.

thats pefect restricting them at a domain level but software installations at the PC / user level will cause issues etc.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

Quote Originally Posted by Cider View Post
    thats pefect restricting them at a domain level but software installations at the PC / user level will cause issues etc.
    Rule numbah one..do not, ever allow someone to install something on YOUR box/es, evar!

Did you hear that? Did it register? Getting it, got it, good?

Evar.
    Every now and then, one of you won't annoy me.

Issue is resolved after rebooting - seems UAC has to be on for this. I think the slider needs to be at the top or just one below.
    Albert Einstein

They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Im a domain admin but ive taken domain admins out locally of the admin group.
    why do this?
    remember the mantra
    K.I.S.S.