Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: General Security and Encryption Questions

Exclamation General Security and Encryption Questions

Hello everyone, this is my first time on this forums and I have a list of some questions I would like to ask this community, because I cannot seem to find my answers online (Google).

** If possible... I would like most (if not all) of my questions below answered before the end of the 1st week of January 2012.

I'm trying to create a more secure environment for my PC and personal data to prevent any hackers from accessing my data.
    Some things I am doing to better secure myself:
    -- Desktop computer (not mobile... so no worries about Hard access)
    -- Clean OS install
    -- Using Norton Internet Security 2012 (w/ custom security settings)
    -- Using Windows XP Pro (SP3)
    -- Using a Limited User account at all times (prevent system access)
    -- Disable (completely) Guest account through register/group permission tweaks
    -- Disable all windows remote access services
    -- Disable other windows services with known exploitations
    -- Using TrueCrypt encryption to encrypt my entire OS partition so no temporary data written to HDD is left unencrypted.
    -- Using TrueCrypt encryption (and Windows XP built-in encryption) to secure Swap/Page partition.
    -- NO dual boot system (just how TrueCrypt prefers it for system encryption I guess...)

Now... here are the questions:
    #1) I have also disabled the CMD (command-prompt) program from being accessed from my limited user account. Is it still possible for "remote" hackers to still load viruses onto my system (with SYSTEM level access) without access to the command line?

#2) I have also disabled the RUN command line (through admin group permissions) from the START menu for the limited user account... does this help prevent any "remote" hackers from gaining SYSTEM level access?