In your April 23rd mailbag "MVR" wrote:

My computer is a stand-alone unit using Windows 98 for the O/S. Whenever I
click on the Windows Update feature I keep getting the Web Page attached FYI
that tells me my company has elected to do Windows Updates on their own and
I need to see my System Administrator.

Why is it doing this, and how can I fix it? Please advise.

MVR

I ran into this the other day and what I found was that the user had his
security set to High for Internet Sites. Once I set it to Medium it worked
just fine.

Justin Anderson

Ah, I never thought of that. Setting your security too high will disable ActiveX, and the updates page relies on that. Very good, thanks for the additional tip!

JP,

I just finished reading the entire posting of the Hacker Profiler on
AntiOnline.com.

I am a seasoned veteran of communications, however, I have just begun to
scratch the "virtual" surface of communications.

I mearly want to express my thanks for the article, and tell you how much I
enjoyed it.

It really opend my eyes to the possibilities of information protection, and
helped me set a few personal goals. One of which is to better protect my
home computer.

Thank you..

Sincerely

SCOTT T. EDGERTON, USAF, TSGT

That makes one success story this week, keep reading....

thanks to your hacker profiling section I was able to find out who or rather what group hacked this one server, and got one of the members to blatently admit to hacking it, this was a really good day

- John Snow

Yet another success story. Pretty soon I'll have enough of them to make my first infomercial!

Hello,

I'm fairly computer illiterate as far as behind the scenes goes.

I am having trouble with a hacker who has focused on me as I responded
angrily to unsolicited email. He has accused me of sending him a virus.
Believe me, I would if I could at the moment.

He has sent me viruses, worms, disabled my browser consistently and now has a