Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 33

Thread: Blacklisted

  1. #21
    Antionline's Security Dude instronics's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    901
    Well, im using IE in win 98......,

    and when i went to that page, the url in the address bar still displayed http://relays.osirusoft.com.
    Ubuntu-: Means in African : "Im too dumb to use Slackware"

  2. #22
    rebmeM roineS enilnOitnA steve.milner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,021
    Originally posted here by instronics
    Well, im using IE in win 98......,

    and when i went to that page, the url in the address bar still displayed http://relays.osirusoft.com.
    Please accept my apologies - I was obviously talking rot.

    Perhaps someone is trying some DNS poisoning or similar.

    Steve
    IT, e-commerce, Retail, Programme & Project Management, EPoS, Supply Chain and Logistic Services. Yorkshire. http://www.bigi.uk.com

  3. #23
    Antionline's Security Dude instronics's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    901
    No need to apologize, you were thinking logically. I have no idea what http://relays.osirusoft.com is supposed to be in the first place, so i really dont know what to expect out of it. I just read here that non of you can load the page. I can. Heh, i guess my greek ISP rules

    Cheers.
    Ubuntu-: Means in African : "Im too dumb to use Slackware"

  4. #24
    rebmeM roineS enilnOitnA steve.milner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,021
    insotronics, can you post your traceroute. There may be weird stuff happening.

    My traceroute:

    6 ae0-51.mp1.London1.Level3.net (212.187.131.1) 21.827 ms 34.123 ms 17.771
    ms
    7 so-1-0-0.mp1.London2.Level3.net (212.187.128.49) 20.861 ms 19.923 ms 19.523 ms
    8 so-1-0-0.bbr1.Washington1.level3.net (212.187.128.138) 101.320 ms 91.332 ms 90.296 ms
    9 so-0-0-0.bbr1.LosAngeles1.level3.net (64.159.1.157) 152.076 ms 151.443 ms
    154.387 ms
    10 unknown.Level3.net (209.247.9.142) 155.831 ms 153.744 ms 154.289 ms
    11 6-1.ipcolo1.LosAngeles1.Level3.net (209.244.10.170) 154.419 ms 154.845 ms
    167.302 ms
    12 unknown.Level3.net (63.208.231.106) 155.018 ms 155.502 ms 154.122 ms
    13 192.168.10.42 (192.168.10.42) 163.073 ms 154.978 ms 162.524 ms
    14 * 172.18.71.44 (172.18.71.44) 3325.741 ms *
    15 * * *
    16 * * *
    17 * h-67-100-82-82.LSANCA54.covad.net (67.100.82.82) 3412.108 ms *


    <edit>
    Note the address on line 13 - Not a public IP!
    </edit>
    IT, e-commerce, Retail, Programme & Project Management, EPoS, Supply Chain and Logistic Services. Yorkshire. http://www.bigi.uk.com

  5. #25
    This just popped into my mail box. I think it is related:
    Some time before 11:30 AM Eastern time, the anti-spam database
    socks.relays.osirusoft.com run by osirusoft.com seems to have been
    hacked.

    Possibly thousands of innocent system admins then found that email
    their
    users sent out was being bounced by uses of this database, even though
    they never spammed, and never ran a 'socks' proxy, and were not in the
    dialup database (the FTC uses this to protect their '[email protected]'

    address!)

    I found bogus responses back on innocent ip addresses that seems to
    have
    been 'stuffed' into osirusoft.com socks.relays RBL., or an * wildcard
    has
    replaced the legit database.

    (including the netscreen list at qorbit.net)

    The TXT record that responds is: Please stop using
    relays.osirusoft.com

    Looking at news:news.admin.net-abuse.email I see several warning about
    using relays.osirusoft.com

    This is not surprising, since they run the (popular or un-popular)
    anti-spam database 'spews' and have been under DDOS and hacker attack
    for
    months.

    What appears to have happened, is maybe dns cache poising, DNS
    hyjacking,
    or maybe someone directly compromised the dns server and edited the
    database (or one of their secondaries) or, aliens in green suits
    decided
    to block all email to anyone using the socks, dialups (and maybe
    spews)
    databases?
    latest reply:
    Osirusoft is not hacked, all indications simply point at Joe being
    tired of
    having an outdated DNSBL list . Letting every single query return a
    positive,
    labelling everything as listed, is the perfect way to get the needed
    attention,
    especially since most Osirusoft users have been unaware of the
    ongoing DDos
    attack.

    This is old news in news.admin.net-abuse.email and
    news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting. No hacks, but intentional
    misconfiguration.

    As it says, stop using relays.osirusoft.com as a DNSBL since it is
    outdated and
    can't be properly updated due to ongoing attacks from spammers.

  6. #26
    It appears that the list is closed down. You can read about the issues at:

    http://groups.google.com/groups?dq=&...et-abuse.email

    And at slashdot:

    http://slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=0...id=111&tid=126

  7. #27
    rebmeM roineS enilnOitnA steve.milner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,021
    Already posted on this thread!

    http://www.antionline.com/showthread...565#post656565

    Please read before posting.

    Steve
    IT, e-commerce, Retail, Programme & Project Management, EPoS, Supply Chain and Logistic Services. Yorkshire. http://www.bigi.uk.com

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    748
    It seems like they are trying to bring this blacklister back to life. Just a little bit ago the message on relays.osirusoft.com was that the site was down because of a drain on resources.

    Now I am able to view the site without any issue.

  9. #29
    I'd rather be fishing DjM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    1,867
    Originally posted here by mohaughn
    Now I am able to view the site without any issue.
    What URL are you going to? I am still unable to reach the site.


    Cheers:
    DjM

  10. #30
    rebmeM roineS enilnOitnA steve.milner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,021
    Originally posted here by DjM
    What URL are you going to? I am still unable to reach the site.
    I'm now getting bugzilla!

    This has to be DNS poisoning since the results are variable.

    Steve

    <edit>
    Or something very wierd is happening with the routing since again traceroute seems to be hitting 192.168.10.42. This is all very odd.
    </edit>
    IT, e-commerce, Retail, Programme & Project Management, EPoS, Supply Chain and Logistic Services. Yorkshire. http://www.bigi.uk.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •