|
-
November 16th, 2003, 05:18 AM
#1
Junior Member
Blocking Whois
I'm not sure if this is the correct topic to post this in, but does anybody know of a way to block whois attempts to my website? Or who I should contact to maybe censor this?
-
November 16th, 2003, 11:25 AM
#2
block port 43. or simply shop the whois deamon.
guru@linux:~> who I grep -i blonde I talk; cd ~; wine; talk; touch; unzip; touch; strip; gasp; finger; mount; fsck; more; yes; gasp; umount; make clean; sleep;
-
November 16th, 2003, 11:57 AM
#3
Re: Blocking Whois
Originally posted here by CSA_Knightmare
I'm not sure if this is the correct topic to post this in, but does anybody know of a way to block whois attempts to my website? Or who I should contact to maybe censor this?
I may not understand what you are asking...
a) Are you running a whois service (which doing what NullDevice said would be the best thing to do,
a.k.a don't run whoisd)?
b) Or do you want joe-bloe to not be able to do joesbox % whois your_site_dot.com ?
(a) is easy, turn off whoisd.
(b) is much more complicated. But if you want to limit the information returned, contact the registrar that you
went through when you registered the domain.
-- spurious
Get OpenSolaris http://www.opensolaris.org/
-
November 16th, 2003, 04:23 PM
#4
I suspect the question is b. Note that if you have a .com/net/org, you can't be anonymous and expect you keep your domain. ICANN requires full, accurate contact information. You can of course lie, but if someone complains, your registrar technically has to fix it or drop your domain. I have seen it happen, but its pretty rare. http://lists.essential.org/pipermail...il/000145.html
-
November 16th, 2003, 05:25 PM
#5
Junior Member
I'm hosting a personal website, which I in fact don't run. It's run by a company that I pay to keep it on the net, so I can't stop whois by stopping the daemon.
Thank you for your reply's, by the way my website is http://www.csa-team.net
-
November 17th, 2003, 11:18 AM
#6
yes i do agree with nulldevice block port 43
if this doesn't work the i dunno how
hey it did work
i tried a whois at
www.netsol.com
and well i got a warning message
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
|
|