|
-
July 27th, 2004, 11:09 PM
#1
Misleading Email Header
First - noone, please get upset if this is the wrong forum for this post - it was either this one or Misc. security quests and I decided on this one...........
Regard this email header from a post sent to my hotmail account:
MIME-Version: 1.0
X-Originating-IP: [24.97.77.150]
X-Originating-Email: [[email protected]]
Received: from 3w-smtp-ac.korea.com ([211.109.1.113]) by mc3-f26.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(5.0.2195.6824); Fri, 30 Apr 2004 15:29:26 -0700
Received: from 3w-smtp-ah.korea.com ([172.31.1.67]) by 3w-smtp-ac.korea.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(5.0.2195.6713); Sat, 1 May 2004 03:02:35 +0900
Received: from 3w-owa-bg.korea.com ([211.109.1.63]) by 3w-smtp-ah.korea.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(5.0.2195.6713); Sat, 1 May 2004 03:02:39 +0900
Received: from mail pickup service by 3w-owa-bg.korea.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC; Sat, 1 May 2004 03:02:34 +0900
X-Message-Info: JGTYoYF78jEm91NGUg553I8q6b+YqrsZ
X-Originated: 218.149.241.187
thread-index: AcQu3VBZoIYh1AFwQtCDYDQA2x9V6Q==
Message-ID: <[email protected]>
Content-Class: urn:content-classes:message
Priority: normal
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V5.50.4927.1200
X-OriginalArrivalTime: 16 Mar 2004 18:16:10.0992 (UTC) FILETIME=[C27E2F00:01C40B82]
X-TERRACE-SPAMRATE: g=8.92 l=-129.94T YET spam-rated.
Return-Path: <[email protected]>
The oddity hear is this email came from someone in Asia (Korea) as you will see but the return path: (my hotmail account address) and the X-originating-email: are both my account address that I recieved the mail in. I am already sure the mail attached to this header was written by a person who got the password of the owner of the account and sent the mail (mostly I know this from the content of the post) - I have done some rudimentary research into email headers and am fairly familiar with them - my question is: "how did he get my account address into the 2 above mentioned fields (if this is indeed the case)?"
Remember: my hotmail account is '[email protected]' and it is on lines in this header that it seems to me it shouldn't be. Also, the originating IP (X-originating-IP) comes from the same place that my ISP's would come from.
I am really curious as to what happened here....................
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
|
|