|
-
December 8th, 2002, 04:42 PM
#1
Unknown host on network.
I am running a samba file sharing server on one of my linux servers. I went into the mandrake control center and did a scan of hosts on my network. It was able to detect all my computers plus an unknown IP address (172.136.106.146). I tired to do a reverse IP lookup but samspade.org was down. I have a linksys router which blocks open ports before stuff gets into my network. I am wondering what others might think this is?
-
December 8th, 2002, 04:50 PM
#2
Here is the NEO Trace results for that IP
===============================
NeoTrace Version 3.01 - (December 20 2000) Trace Results
Target: 172.136.106.146
Date: Sun Dec 08 08:35:27 2002
Nodes: 20
Node Data
Node Net Who IP Address Location Node Name
20 1 1 172.136.106.146 39.017N, 77.417W ac886a92.ipt.aol.com
Packet Data
Node High Low Avg Tot Lost
20 ---- ---- ---- 2 2
Network Data
Network id#: 1
OrgName: America Online
OrgID: AOL
NetRange: 172.128.0.0 - 172.191.255.255
CIDR: 172.128.0.0/10
NetName: AOL-172BLK
NetHandle: NET-172-128-0-0-1
Parent: NET-172-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: DAHA-01.NS.AOL.COM
NameServer: DAHA-02.NS.AOL.COM
Comment: ADDRESSES WITHIN THIS BLOCK ARE NON-PORTABLE
RegDate: 2000-03-24
Updated: 2002-08-09
TechHandle: AOL-NOC-ARIN
TechName: America Online, Inc.
TechPhone: +1-703-265-4670
TechEmail: [email protected]
OrgAbuseHandle: AOL382-ARIN
OrgAbuseName: America Online, Inc.
OrgAbusePhone: +1-703-265-4662
OrgAbuseEmail: [email protected]
OrgNOCHandle: AOL236-ARIN
OrgNOCName: America Online, Inc.
OrgNOCPhone: +1-703-265-5431
OrgNOCEmail: [email protected]
OrgTechHandle: AOL-NOC-ARIN
OrgTechName: America Online, Inc.
OrgTechPhone: +1-703-265-4670
OrgTechEmail: [email protected]
ARIN Whois database, last updated 2002-12-07 20:00
Access to America Online, Inc.'s WHOIS service is for information
purposes. America Online, Inc. makes this service available AS
IS and does not guarantee its accuracy or availability. By
submitting a WHOIS query, you agree that you will use this service
and the information we provide only for lawful purposes and that,
under no circumstances will you use this service or the information
we provide to: (1) allow, enable, or otherwise support the transmission
of mass unsolicited, commercial advertising or solicitations via
email (spam); or (2) enable high volume, automated, electronic
processes that apply to America Online, Inc. (or its systems).
America Online, Inc. reserves the right to modify these terms at any
time. By accessing and using our WHOIS service, you agree to these terms.
Domain Name: AOL.COM
Registrant:
America Online, Inc.
22000 AOL Way
Dulles, VA 20166
US
Created on..............: Jun 22 1995 12:00AM
Expires on..............: Nov 23 2003 7:02AM
Record Last Updated on..: Nov 24 2002 7:05PM
Registrar...............: America Online, Inc.
http://whois.registrar.aol.com/whois/
Administrative, Technical Contact:
AOL Domain Administration (America Online, Inc.)
22000 AOL Way
Dulles, VA 20166
US
Tel. 703 265 4670
Email: [email protected]
Domain servers:
DNS-01.NS.AOL.COM
152.163.159.232
DNS-02.NS.AOL.COM
205.188.157.232
DNS-06.NS.AOL.COM
149.174.211.8
DNS-07.NS.AOL.COM
64.12.51.132
WHOIS data is only provided by this server for domains ending
in .COM, .NET, and .ORG that were registered through
America Online, Inc's Domain Registration Service.
The previous information has been obtained either directly from the
registrant or a registrar of the domain name other than VeriSign.
_____
NeoTrace Copyright ©1997-2000 NeoWorx Inc
If you receive something that says \'Send this to everyone you know,\' pretend you don\'t know me.
-
December 8th, 2002, 05:22 PM
#3
Thanks for the trace magnoon. I went to all the different computers on my network and was able to locate the cause of the unknown address. It was from an open AOL instant messenger programer running on a windows me computer. I don't know why Samba recognized it as a local computer on the network with a shared folder. I wonder if this opens up a security issue within the network.
-
December 8th, 2002, 05:51 PM
#4
We block all instant messaging services on our network because they can lead to security breaches on a network.
Take a look here overview of the risks:
http://nativeintelligence.com/awareness/is-chat.asp
http://www.usatoday.com/money/tech/2...m-security.htm
If you allow instant messaging you are opening a door to a potential breach.
If you receive something that says \'Send this to everyone you know,\' pretend you don\'t know me.
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
|
|