|
-
December 4th, 2003, 02:04 PM
#1
Junior Member
Anyone familiar with inktomisearch.com ?
Lately I have noticed a huge influx of Guest Users on my message board that are listed as j3189.inktomisearch.com for example. My research has done little good to find out if this is a referring page site address, or a proxy service of some kind. I don't think it's a Internet Provider because my board mostly only gets local traffic, and we have no such provider in our area.
Any ideas?
Thanks!
-
December 4th, 2003, 06:25 PM
#2
Looks like it has something to do with Yahoo.
whois -h magic inktomisearch.com
inktomisearch.com is registered with ALLDOMAINS.COM INC. - redirecting to whois.alldomains.com
whois -h whois.alldomains.com inktomisearch.com
Alldomains.com - The Leader in Corporate Domain Management
----------------------------------------------------------
For Global Domain Consolidation, Research & Intelligence,
and Enterprise DNS, go to: www.alldomains.com/corp/
----------------------------------------------------------
The Data in Alldomains.com's WHOIS database is provided by Alldomains.com
for information purposes, and to assist persons in obtaining information
about or related to a domain name registration record. Alldomains.com
does not guarantee its accuracy. By submitting a WHOIS query, you agree
that you will use this Data only for lawful purposes and that, under no
circumstances will you use this Data to: (1) allow, enable, or otherwise
support the transmission of mass unsolicited, commercial advertising or
solicitations via e-mail (spam); or (2) enable high volume, automated,
electronic processes that apply to Alldomains.com (or its systems).
Alldomains.com reserves the right to modify these terms at any time.
By submitting this query, you agree to abide by this policy.
Registrant:
Yahoo! Inc.
(DOM-300507)
701 First Avenue Sunnyvale
CA
94089 US
Domain Name: inktomisearch.com
Registrar Name: Alldomains.com
Registrar Whois: whois.alldomains.com
Registrar Homepage: http://www.alldomains.com
Administrative Contact:
Domain Administrator
(NIC-1457976)
Yahoo! Inc.
701 First Avenue Sunnyvale
CA
94089 US
[email protected] +1.4083493300 Fax- +1.4083493301
Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
Domain Administrator
(NIC-1457976)
Yahoo! Inc.
701 First Avenue Sunnyvale
CA
94089 US
[email protected] +1.4083493300 Fax- +1.4083493301
Created on..............: 1998-Jul-21.
Expires on..............: 2005-Jul-20.
Record last updated on..: 2003-Dec-03 12:36:06.
Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.YAHOO.COM 66.218.71.63
NS5.YAHOO.COM 216.109.116.17
NS2.YAHOO.COM 66.163.169.170
NS3.YAHOO.COM 217.12.4.104
NS4.YAHOO.COM 63.250.206.138
Alldomains.com - The Leader in Corporate Domain Management
----------------------------------------------------------
For Global Domain Consolidation, Research & Intelligence,
and Enterprise DNS, go to: www.alldomains.com/corp/
----------------------------------------------------------
Cheers:
-
December 4th, 2003, 06:35 PM
#3
Junior Member
Does Yahoo offer a proxy service now? it would seem as though their requests are being redirected via Yahoo or something.
-
December 4th, 2003, 06:45 PM
#4
As Yahoo is the registrant of the domain:
Registrant:
Yahoo! Inc.
(DOM-300507)
701 First Avenue Sunnyvale
CA
94089 US
Domain Name: inktomisearch.com
It doesn't surprise me that requests would be routed thought a Yahoo server somewhere.
Cheers:
-
December 4th, 2003, 06:57 PM
#5
from what i can find out about it inktomisearch is a sort of search engine - or web spider which has recently been purchased by yahoo. It spiders the web and then provides those results to other engines or portals - apparantly such firms as MSN and hotbot use information gathered by inktomisearch - you can do a pure web search using inktomisearch here as you can see their logo is at the bottom o page as well 
you can visit the inktomi site here
I also found this index while looking for some more info for you - anyone care to guess as to what it is??
v_Ln
-
December 4th, 2003, 07:12 PM
#6
i just wrote up a wee bit of info about robots.txt files and how you can use them to your advantage when dealing with search engines - take a look here
v_Ln
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
|
|