|
-
June 12th, 2004, 10:39 PM
#1
Double Click
Well, i have spybot protecting me from mal/spy/ad ware auto downloads with a confirmation to block stuff before it does. So i came to AO, and it popped up a message saying "Do you wish to block the download of double click" in which i pressed yes (this was in a spybot window)
Well, i remember this happening a long time ago, when jupmedia first took over, they had those trigger words installed. So to check this, i went to other sites including google, cnn, hotornot.com, planetmaddness.com, and for the hell of it, a porn site. none of these returned this double click message, but as soon as i returned to ao it gave me that message. Every time i click on something here it pops that up no matter what link i click.. So errr.. whats up with that G?
-
June 12th, 2004, 10:57 PM
#2
If I am not mistaken it is from the add on the top of the pages. I ran my mouse over it and it had ad.doubleclick.net in the url plus a bunch of numbers and at the end a link to Microsoft.
-
June 13th, 2004, 07:25 AM
#3
Hi
Well, i remember this happening a long time ago, when jupmedia first took over, they had those trigger words installed.
I am not sure what you are talking about i am not as old as you are .................. Double click is the Advertisement Service used by AO ..................and by most of the Adware/Spyware checking programs it is considered a malware.........because i think there was a case aginst them for storing that cookie without the knoweledge and permisson of the user............Which i think Double-Click Won...........
And do you ment this pops on every Link or new page i think it is because we have Advertisement on each page By them 
I have AD-Aware it Dosen't provide Live protection like Spybot .........So no message while browesing....but when i scan my computer with it i too get all these Double Cookies ........
-
June 13th, 2004, 07:34 AM
#4
SwordFish is correct... it's the service JUPM used to "count" the ads. It's a dirty job........
It's not installing anything, it's not storing any personal information,...
What up with you, er0kymyW0cky?
-
June 13th, 2004, 08:18 AM
#5
What up with you, er0kymyW0cky?
And this is how threads turn non-sensical !
-
June 13th, 2004, 09:24 AM
#6
Originally posted here by Negative
SwordFish is correct... it's the service JUPM used to "count" the ads. It's a dirty job........
It's not installing anything, it's not storing any personal information,...
What up with you, er0kymyW0cky?
o not much neggo my eggo, just perusing (sp?) the forums and stuff... ive been deep into astrophysics lately.
I found those pics! I'll upload them soon.
-
June 13th, 2004, 01:09 PM
#7
If you are really, really paranoid
Try: http://www.winpatrol.com
Go into cookie manager and put
double
click
Into the "nuts" screen
You will not hear from them again
You can also put in partial words, and any cookie containing that will be "eaten" This does not stop the site from working however

EDIT: I am also running SpyBot, and WinPatrol gets rid of the cookie before SpyBot notices it
-
June 14th, 2004, 11:01 PM
#8
And this is how threads turn non-sensical !
Threads turn non-sensical and off-topic by people who point out that threads are turning non-sensical and off-topic, without adding anything to the discussion. What is exactly what I'm doing now, too, btw; unlike my first post where I actually added something to the discussion.
er0k > astrophysics...heh. Can't wait to see the pics
-
June 15th, 2004, 02:45 PM
#9
o0o diss! MemorY you better shuts up before Neg smacks you with his 1337 stick /me wishes he could see another one of Neg's classical belgian-like flames. *sighs*
-
July 10th, 2004, 04:11 AM
#10
Junior Member
Doubleclick is owned by Kevin O'Connor. They have just released a new type of spyware or spyad to get on your computer without your knowledge. Doubleclick is also a highjacker of email domains. They get onto your URL's and stay there. They turn some kind of remote on so that everytime you go to your email box, they try to download porn, ads, and other sort of junk mail. They will gum up your computer. Spybot prevents them from downloading, so if you have doubleclick on your url, be sure to download Spybot.
Doubleclick works hand in hand with servedby which is owned by Nester. com. Akamai, who is the downloader for Microsoft patches is also now tied up with doubleclick and have their own ad company. If you get to a site that has doubleclick on it, you will also find Akamai. This is a shame since they have enjoyed such a good rep before. And everyone wonders why Microsoft can't fix their Windows. How can you since a good company has gone over to the enemy?
Doubleclick use to be just cookies. No longer do they just set cookies. Their cookies sometimes morph into other spyware. They are with you whereever you go on the internet if they are on your url.
You can make a complaint with the FTC and they will turn it over to their law enforcement people. All you have to do is go to Goggle Search and put FTC in search and the search will take you to the FTC internet site.
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
|
|