|
-
December 7th, 2004, 10:54 PM
#3
Update:
If you receive buddies.funbuddyicons.com in an instant message and click on it, you will be directed to a site that will ask to install a buddy icon software. If you agree, your homepage is changed, (not hijacked forever, idk yet) and more importantly, there are new tools installed in your instant messanger. When you send messages, an advertisement for buddies.funbuddyicons.com is appended and the sender cannot see it being appended. If it exploited the user this would be a corporate worm, but it doesn't exploit anything.
However, in the EULA:
http://www.funwebproducts.com/eula_1104/
It mentions nothing of this way of advertising through AIM message injections. So in a sense, is there a form of exploitation going on? I'm no lawyer, but could someone look over that with me and see where it gives the software permission to alter your outgoing messages?
Although someone agrees to the installation, this part of the software is not outlined in the EULA.
I ran all this on a virtual install of a default installation of windows. There was a uninstall listing in add/remove programs, but when I did it, it broke my internet connection on the next reboot. I used this tool:
http://www.spychecker.com/program/winsockxpfix.html
, removed a .cab in HJT, and a reboot fixed it. I don't know for sure yet if a second reboot fixed it, the .cab, or the winsock tool fixed it. I will be messing around more to see.
As for now, I think Focus Interactive broke their license agreement. Could others please have a look at it with me? It's a pretty intimidating document...
Thanks!
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
|
|