PDA

Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : An odd occurance


punchthebaby
August 11th, 2002, 05:17 AM
I was surfing earlier today, and thought i'd try to pin down the website for an indy record label called "kill rock stars." Well, i was trying variations on that name as a web address when i ran into:

http://www.krs.com/

While waiting for the page to load, the status bar changed from the IP to "redirecting" and again to "fbi.gov" ... a friend had the same results when he attempted to load the page.

It is also noted that once the page DOES load, it's either a fake 404 page or a "We couldn't find the pae you're looking for" page. What gives with this, and could this be a possible indication of a false-front fbi site that is terribly hidden?

nebuluswonderer
August 11th, 2002, 05:21 AM
Tried it out. Also got fbi.gov. Very weird. Wonder what krs represents? Maybe type krs at google and see what you get.

cwk9
August 11th, 2002, 05:31 AM
Here is what sam spade kicks out

HTTP/1.1 302 Object moved
Server: Microsoft-IIS/5.0
Date: Sun, 11 Aug 2002 03:20:51 GMT
Connection: close
Location: http://fbi.gov
Content-Length: 135
Content-Type: text/html
Cache-control: private

<head><title>Object moved</title></head>
<body><h1>Object Moved</h1>This object may be found here (http://fbi.gov).</body>

Last line of trace route:
16 216.148.213.150 14.277 ms DNS error [AS4265] AT&T CERFnet Redwood City

aeallison
August 11th, 2002, 05:34 AM
Most likely that someone had the domain krs.com that is, or was, guilty of a haneous crime, and the fbi is logging all attempts at trying to access it in an attempt to track down other perpetrators, better stay at a friends house tonight and watch yours for any signs of counter terrorist activities...

spitfire087
August 11th, 2002, 05:37 AM
very odd... i also tried the link- got fbi.gov. went to the fbi homepage then and searched for "KRS". got the error message. tried again, and got "0 results". ??? something smells odd..

punchthebaby
August 11th, 2002, 05:45 AM
this does sound like some attempt at tracing activity to the site. however, wouldn't our nation's most notoriously sneaky group of black-clad good-doers have a sneakier way of doing it than THIS?

aeallison
August 11th, 2002, 05:51 AM
wouldn't our nation's most notoriously sneaky group of black-clad good-doers

Just think about that a little bit...LOL

It only takes a second to get an IP address, and I think they will use that as data to be crunched, patterns found, geograpical possibilities mapped with that data to pinpoint a particular IP pool somewhere.

Then....who knows

nebuluswonderer
August 11th, 2002, 06:19 AM
Sam Spade is great software. Always tracing down spammers.

ammo
August 11th, 2002, 07:01 AM
Give em a call and ask...


Server used for this query: [ whois.1stdomain.net ]

1stDomain Whois Server

Registered to:
KRS Electronics Corp (KRSCOM-HOLDER)
321 Burlingame Dr
Burlingame, ca 94010
AR

Domain Name: KRS.COM
Registered through: 1stDomain.net

Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Zone Contact, Billing Contact:
N/A Hostmaster (NAHO1107F) mamhostus@YAHOO.COM
Mamhost
321 Burlingame Dr
Burlingame, ca 94010
AR
752-6234

Domain created: 1997-06-11.
Domain last updated: 2001-08-31.
Domain expires: 2004-06-10.

Name servers for this domain:

NS1.MYDOMAIN.COM 216.148.213.141 (HO1833F)
NS2.MYDOMAIN.COM 216.148.221.142 (HO1834F)
NS3.MYDOMAIN.COM 216.148.213.143 (HO1835F)
NS4.MYDOMAIN.COM 216.148.221.144 (HO1836F)



Ammo

TOrn_sOuL
August 11th, 2002, 07:15 AM
Personally when i want to find out where someone is i use a file called visual route.. i got it from www.mastersquad.com but they were shut down... i dunno why but if you ever need visual route just send me a message you can track anyone anywhere. and its much faster than most of the progz out there. ill try a search with visual route to see what comes up for www.krs.com and then maybe i can find out where it is coming from.. if you cant tell what the hell i am saying it is ok... im still a newb also. lol

ok, i scanned the site.. its coming from san diego... hmm possibly a crime area... anyway ... i got this i.p. number with the site if you want it 216.148.213.150 make sure you tell me what you find ;)