|
-
October 14th, 2005, 10:53 PM
#3
Lol. Let's check... Amsterdam? My favorite city! (Ajax rocks! and if you don't know what I'm talking about, you're not a soccer-fan. )
Two addresses in this one, though:
DE LOTTO NL INTERNATIONAL
BIJLMERPLEIN
888 1102 MG AMSTERDAM
ROYAL TRUST AGENCY
BV.HONDA
CLAIMING SECURITY AGENCY.
205 Franz straat, Amsterdam
Now, the first thing I notice is the second street name: 205 Franz straat. In the Netherlands the street name comes before the street number, thus: Franz straat 205, not the other way around. The space in the name is also unusual. And funnier, while Franz is a valid first name, in Dutch it's often written as Frans, with an S and not a Z. And this street is apparantly named after just someone's first name. No last name? Weird. There are 7 streets in Amsterdam starting with 'Frans', btw. None start with 'Franz'. So that's a fake one.
Back to the first one. Bijlmerplein 888 could be valid. I think it's the address of the ABN Amro bank at the crossing of Bijlmerplein and Hoogoorddreef. Or perhaps opposite of this bank. It is a valid address, though. Then again, Bijlmerplein is a very popular shopping center in the Bijlmer, a subsection of Amsterdam. So I googled for the address and lucky me: http://www.joewein.de/sw/419-phone-nl.htm
The link shows a list of Dutch addresses used for these scams. And you'll find this address there too. This time:
Mrs. Caroline Van Smith
Games/Lottery Coordinator.
De Lotto Netherlands International
all response should be mail to
[email protected]
=
Mr. Robort Van Paul
Financial Director,
Netherlands Development Finance Company,
De Amsterdamse
Poort Bijlmerplein
888 1102 MG Amsterdam
1000 BV Amsterdam
E-mail: [email protected]
Phone number +31-649-208-996
Fax number:+31-84-718-9627
And this one even has an email address and phone numbers. The email address doesn't excite me, though. It's some webmail provider. The +31-649-208-996 is a mobile phone number. It starts with +31-6 (or 06 if you live in the Netherlands.) The whole 6 range is reserved for mobile phones here. Phone numbers in and around Amsterdam start with +31-2 with +31-20 used for Amsterdam itself and the other +31-2 numbers for outside Amsterdam but in the same area. (Haarlem, Schiphol airport, Purmerend, etc.) More regional prefixes are listed at http://www.detelefoongids.nl/netnummers.html in case you're interested.
The +31-84 number is indeed a fax number. It's actually some additional fax service provided by KPN where the phone company will receive all faxes and store them until someone with proper access will download them. My dad has one of those and it's very useful because now he doesn't have to keep a fax machine connected 24/7. 
Finally I noticed the email address [email protected] and wonder what walla.com actually is. So a visit to http://www.walla.com made that clear too. It's a free email provider, with 3 GB of mailspace. A bit like GMail, I guess.
So we have some pretty wealty organisations here (De Lotto, Honda) and while they can give away ten million Euro yet they can't afford their own email addresses and rely of a free fax service?
I'm not sure but I think this is a scam. Still, there's a 0.00000000000001% chance that it's real. Are you willing to take a chance?
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
|
|